mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Why is it so hard for Yamaha to make the sampler in the motif’s user friendly."

     
Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 01:51 AM
Brilyint
Total Posts:  40
Joined  08-17-2008
status: Regular

I’m a die hard Yamaha fan, I get tearily eyed in a painful way when it comes down to working the sampler part in the XS. Why must it be so complicated to just go in and sample different samples at a time.
Why must I do so many things with one sample before I can use it. The RS7000 was way better sample wise then any of the Motifs bring that approach back. The Fantom G loads samples very fast. I love the sounds in the Motif XS they are the best on the planet.

Why put a sampler in a machine that most people are not going to use because of how hard it is to work? We are better off without the sampler function in the Motif. If we are going to be charge for a sampler we should be given a great one. Or just give us the Motif XF with keys no sampler for $1800. Everyone can’t afford to buy a $2400 keyboard then a real good computer in order to use features that’s not included in our hardware. I should be able to have everything I need in my keyboard to complete at lease my production.

We can buy a good iMac or MacBook pro and very good software for the price of one limitless keyboard.
We are given more options when we go the computer route. So yeah we expect the companies that we buy these very expansive keyboards from to be current not behind with the technology.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 05:17 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Why must I do so many things with one sample before I can use it. The RS7000 was way better sample wise then any of the Motifs bring that approach back

The RS7000 did not have the ability to make samples that were musical instrument sounds (which does involve quite a bit more complexity). The focus of the RS sampler was quite different. We can tell from this statement just what you are looking for from a sampler. You are not interested in making a playable Flute sound, you want to use samples as audio clips, loops, sound effects. etc.

The Motif--series and the RS7000 share a lot of things, in fact the RS7000 type of sampling is included in the Motif XS - perhaps you have just not spent enough time to find it. ARe you being distracted by all the other things that the Motif-series sampler does? Just a thought.

Why put a sampler in a machine that most people are not going to use because of how hard it is to work?

Really? Is that question you want to know, or are you sure you are speaking for everyone here. Without exaggerating I’m pretty sure it is safe for me to say, I’ve spoken with more Motif-series (and RS7000) owners than you - I’m pretty sure of that. One person’s difficult to work is anothers, it does not do quite enough. You will just have to trust me on that one (or not, it doesn’t really matter) but in my experience there are just as many people looking for more complexity as there are to make it easier. It is a general trend though that those that want it easier also want it less expensive (some kind of wierd law of inverse price scaling is always in play) lol

We are better off without the sampler function in the Motif. If we are going to be charge for a sampler we should be given a great one. Or just give us the Motif XF with keys no sampler for $1800.

If you been around this entire decade you should know that the S-series is the Motif-series without the sampler - your pricing is just a bit too low, but in general the 88 key S-series is typically more than $1000 less than the Motif-series version - and the difference is the sampling sequencer.

Now if you have questions about how to use the sampler (as found in the Motif-series) we can certainly help… that is the reason we participate in forums like this… not really to answer ‘tearily eyed’ disappointments - but rather to help you deal with what is available (what is popular in one part of the world may not be in another, remember these products service the entire planet). You must know that not everyone works the same way, nor do they want to work the same way. The tools are made purposefully flexible - if that makes it difficult for some that is a reality, but once you figure it out - you can really use it to great advantage. As a former teacher, the “learning curve” is always looked at as something that is surmountable… no one seems to enjoy going through it is usually worth it. Learning to play piano was a steep learning curve, it was surmountable and the enjoyment it brings now far surpasses any complaint made during the learning process.

I cannot tell you how many people thought the sampling in the RS7000 (which you state was “way better sample wise") was not way better sample-wise… So there you go… Different strokes. But certainly you can do in the Motif what you could do in the RS.

Hopefully you got your griping off your chest. Do you have questions about how to use the Motif-series sampler?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 07, 2010 @ 02:02 PM
coyote144
Total Posts:  51
Joined  08-14-2008
status: Experienced

I have some questions, yes.

Will yamaha sampler able to auto-loop samples?
Different releases samples could be triggered with different release velocities, like Kontakt does?
Other sampler format can be imported in the Motif (Emu, Roland, Akai...)

Of course, some of these request can be done with external software, which are usually not free.

But does a 3000$ workstation allow this by itself?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 07, 2010 @ 03:28 PM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator

The sampling in the Motif XF has several major purposes.

1) Integrated Sampling sequencer

Sampling in the sequencer using sample with note will auto loop samples on measure boundries so you can add vocals and other instruments to your sequence.  So , yes, the Motif will auto loop samples.

Will it automatically loop complex waveforms like strings or choirs, no, but neither will any of the software sampling programs available even on computer platforms.  The only programs we know of that do that auto looping with any degree of effectivness are dedicated sound design programs like Redmatica.  Redmatic is a MAC only program that cost about $600.

Different releases samples could be triggered with different release velocities, like Kontakt does?

The Motif does not support release velocity, but XSpanded articulation allows you to assign elements to be played on Note Off and the different elements can have velocity windows.  So different note offs can be played depending on initial velocity.

“Other sampler format can be imported in the Motif (Emu, Roland, Akai...)”

No, it does not which is why we worked with several software developers to develop inexpensive tools for the Motif.

John Melas’s software will import Sound Font 2 files, AIFF ( wiht Mapping) and .wav ( with mapping).

Chicken Systems Motif Creator will import a wide variety of formats and create Motif format waveforms.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 07, 2010 @ 11:12 PM
Brilyint
Total Posts:  40
Joined  08-17-2008
status: Regular

Now don’t get me wrong I love the way the Motif slice the samples in a musical way, I just wish Yamaha took there approach to the sampler a little different. We want to be able to hit a button to go to different parts of the sampler and edit things a little faster without having to leave the board and use other software to do the job of the Motif XS/ or XF.

I own both Motif XS and Fantom G. I hate the sounds of the Fantom G but love the sampler eventhou it’s not like the
MV-8800 with it comes down to getting in deep with the samples it’s work flow is pretty fast.

I’m truly a musician in heart that’s why I love the Motif XS, after having one since it’s been out and making really
thousands of songs I want to be able to experiment now with samples, I’m getting to old to keep hooking up all kinds
of different machines to use sounds from this board and that board, when I know the tecknolgy is there where one machine can do it all.

I know we all here love Yamaha, cause Yamaha treat us better then any other workstation company out there.
We will be willing to pay more money for a department that will be created to focus on sampling tecknolgy
In a new Yamaha workstation keyboard. Belive me Yamaha you guys are the best when it comes down to the sound.
You guys have that mastered. I’m just hoping you guys can now get the sampling part mastered.

Belive me we will pay for it.

Thanks for the quick response.

  [ Ignore ]