mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XF , can we layer drums samples ?"

     
Posted on: August 03, 2010 @ 05:05 PM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced

Since this was not possible with the XS( layering drums to make custom kits) Can we now do this with the new XF?

Layer drums sample to make new drums sounds per key ?( similar to the fantom g)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 04, 2010 @ 07:19 AM
shakil
Avatar
Total Posts:  102
Joined  11-28-2002
status: Pro
bbsounds - 03 August 2010 05:05 PM

Since this was not possible with the XS( layering drums to make custom kits) Can we now do this with the new XF?


Layer drums sample to make new drums sounds per key ?( similar to the fantom g)

You could layer the drums in Program mode in XS, but even there it’s not as simple as on Fantom-G.  In XS you had to layer sample at the waveform level and only one stereo sample could sound at a time, even though you could have 16 velocity layers for a key.

On XF you will be able to edit the kit in Song/Mixing section as well.  A feature that I had been requesting for a long time.  Thanks to Yamaha for including this on XF.

But, I think layering of samples will still be same as in XS. 

On Fantom-G you can easily layer upto 8 samples on each key of a drum kit (4 stereo samples).  Each layer can switch with velocity or all sound at the same time (this is not possible on ES, XS, and XF probably as well), can have it’s own filter cutoff, resonance, type, level, pan, reverb and chorus levels.. etc.  But there is no EQ or option to process the drums key with a different MFX or PFX.

On XS and XF you can have 64 layers on each drum key, but only 1 stereo sample can sound a a time.  But, for each drum key you can more processing (EQ, filters, processing with different insert effects… etc).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 04, 2010 @ 03:52 PM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced

If this is true about the XF (would like an official answer from yamaha on this) that would be a real shame.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 01:51 PM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced

Well?  I have skimmed through most of the features for the new motif XF . Will we have the luxury of layering drum samples to each key?  So we can create drum kits of our own?

this is a bump for a reply:)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 04:00 PM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator

Sorry, we didn’t answer as Shakil’s answer above was both correct and quite detailed .

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 05:10 PM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced
Yamaha_US - 06 August 2010 04:00 PM

Sorry, we didn’t answer as Shakil’s answer above was both correct and quite detailed .

THANK YOU!  for your reply but I am afraid shakil said”
But, I think layering of samples will still be same as in XS.”

and

.  Each layer can switch with velocity or all sound at the same time (this is not possible on ES, XS, and” XF probably as well”

so this is a confirmation then?. it will be the same as in the XS.  Oh well. It- is -what- it- is. :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 07:28 PM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator

Actually on the Motif ES you can assign a Voice to key in a drum kit so actually in the Motif ES it’s possible to have 4 elements in a Voice assigned to key in a drum kit. This feature disappeared in the XS because from research not many people used it, but maybe it’ s time to re -think that.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 06, 2010 @ 07:42 PM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced

Re think............... . I am happy that now we can edit drum parts in song and mix mode . I hope yamaha can implement this feature in the xf to layer drums as well.  I purchased a roland fantom g specifically for this feature . I really hope yamaha adds this feature especially since the new xf has killer features as of now.

just because of this I have to hold my cash. Its a shame, the sound on the motif is killer and worth every penny just for that alone.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 07, 2010 @ 11:44 PM
Brilyint
Total Posts:  40
Joined  08-17-2008
status: Regular

Will there be away to edit your drums in pattern mode? Change your drum sounds in pattern mode without having to leave the pattern mode to do so? If not why can’t we get this simple mode?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 08, 2010 @ 05:40 AM
bbsounds
Total Posts:  93
Joined  08-23-2008
status: Experienced
Brilyint - 07 August 2010 11:44 PM

Will there be away to edit your drums in pattern mode? Change your drum sounds in pattern mode without having to leave the pattern mode to do so? If not why can’t we get this simple mode?

If you read the first reply to my post you will see the answer .

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 08, 2010 @ 08:22 AM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator
bbsounds - 08 August 2010 05:40 AM
Brilyint - 07 August 2010 11:44 PM
Will there be away to edit your drums in pattern mode? Change your drum sounds in pattern mode without having to leave the pattern mode to do so?

Yes, you will be able to edit drum kits in pattern and song and store the edits in a user drum kit.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 08, 2010 @ 10:04 PM
Brilyint
Total Posts:  40
Joined  08-17-2008
status: Regular

Thanks!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 24, 2013 @ 03:29 PM
Apex
Total Posts:  683
Joined  10-21-2005
status: Guru

technically couldn’t this be done by just using a voice as the sample destination? instead of a drum kit?  And just assign the drum sample to the same key but just select a different element?

  [ Ignore ]