mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "LOGIC9, YAMAHA XS MLAN TUTORIAL"

   
Page 2 of 3
Posted on: March 17, 2010 @ 12:56 AM
imacxs6
Total Posts:  1
Joined  03-17-2010
status: Newcomer

Thanks so much for your Logic/mLAN tutorial! However, I am stuck at one step:
the Steinberg FW icon is present under System Preferences, but it doesn’t appear in the Audio Midi Setup pane, so I cannot proceed connecting the Motif XS6 per your instructions. What should I do?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 17, 2010 @ 07:04 AM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

I pm’d you…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 27, 2010 @ 03:26 PM
ezareski
Total Posts:  3
Joined  04-26-2010
status: Newcomer

This is what I get when I try to open the logic song attached....what can I do?  I dont have an MLAN.  My connection is simply MOtif XS6, Logic 9 and motu 828 mark 2.....can you guys help me?

Image Attachments
Screen shot 2010-04-27 at 3.24.24 PM.png
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 27, 2010 @ 04:10 PM
ezareski
Total Posts:  3
Joined  04-26-2010
status: Newcomer

So I have the midi working from my Logic 9 to my MOTIF now with USB but!  I can’t seem to get the Studio manager working.  I dont know if I have the right set up in AMS...can you guys help me?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 29, 2011 @ 05:18 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

FYI, though this tutorial is titled both XS and mLAN, it is important to note that it is applicable to the FW16E and the XF since both utilize the YSFW driver… There will however be a few differences in the names of ports, etc…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 30, 2011 @ 10:24 AM
jordygolfing
Total Posts:  96
Joined  12-31-2008
status: Experienced

This looks great, but I have a few questions.

1.  I use the firewire on my Motif and have installed the extra board to do so, and I’m assuming when you say MLAN, you mean firewire?

2.  Why am I creating any kind of connectivity for the midi USB?  Doesn’t the midi and audio go through the firewire?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 25, 2012 @ 03:42 PM
kdoog59
Total Posts:  9
Joined  08-03-2009
status: Newcomer

hi, I have the Motif XS 8, iMac, logic 8 express.  downloaded FW drivers and installed, set up the motif as described. 

I have been following this tutorial religiously.  I get stuck on getting figure 8 showing the voices to appear.  same for figure 9 and 13.  oddly enough, if i double click and hold my mouse button down they will show, but when I release the mouse they disappear.  I can change the instruments to only one of the 16 you provided in the tutorial, I cannot change the instrument to any other XS voice.

I am using logic 8 express.  will this make a difference?

Also - my intent is to use the computer as the sequencer and the xs voices as the tone generator.  I want to be able to put down tracks, then simply get a menu of voices from the XS banks, and change them with a click of a mouse.  IT looks like this tutorial is the right approach for that, if there is another software / method (such as USB or straight MIDI) please let me know.  I did try Cubase, and it just kept crashing with the VST editor.

There should be a simple setup to do this, so if you can point me to some previously posted files, that would be appreciated as well.

K

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 25, 2012 @ 05:35 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/442432/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 26, 2012 @ 07:23 PM
gustavimprov
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  01-16-2009
status: Experienced

I have been following this tutorial religiously.  I get stuck on getting figure 8 showing the voices to appear.  same for figure 9 and 13.  oddly enough, if i double click and hold my mouse button down they will show, but when I release the mouse they disappear.  I can change the instruments to only one of the 16 you provided in the tutorial, I cannot change the instrument to any other XS voice.

there was a problem in logic 8 that was talked bout in the logicpro forum with that popup window. had to trash preferences to correct. but that’s a logic 9 file too right? might not be compatible with logic 8, i been using the xs editor to pull up voices like that tutorial says.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 27, 2012 @ 03:00 PM
kdoog59
Total Posts:  9
Joined  08-03-2009
status: Newcomer

Okay - Success!  I broke down and purchased logic pro 9.  That solved the flashing screen and I can change voices.  Now for the dumb question.  How do you get the XS editor up (figure 15 in the tutorial)?

Thanks again for the help all - good feeling to have it working!
K

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 27, 2012 @ 04:20 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

You need the “Motif XS Editor v1.3.0 for Mac OS X” this is the version of the Editor that runs in “Studio Manager v2.3.4 for Mac OS X” - which can be downloaded from http://download.yamaha.com

Here is a quick setup guide for running the Studio Editor via FW - this will be an application that runs along side of Logic and will be your software interface for controlling the Motif XS.

Motif XS and Studio Manager as Standalone via Firewire… Macintosh

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 27, 2012 @ 05:18 PM
kdoog59
Total Posts:  9
Joined  08-03-2009
status: Newcomer

thanks for the quick response.  I downloaded the XS editor and Studio manager and installed.  However, when I get to the step:

Launch STUDIO MANAGER version 2.3.4 (SM2)
The SETUP window will appear
If it is not already added, you want to “ADD” the “MOTIF XS” editor to your “Workspace”. There will be a list of Editors on the left side of the dialog box; {ADD} in the middle and your workspace on the right side of the dialog box.

My list of devices is blank - empty.  nothing to add to my work space.  I also get another blank dialog box as well that says studio manager.  I checked to insure FW driver is being used in logic and it is, also went through the FW driver version, its the latest.

I know this stuff is standard, trying to work it out on my own, so thanks any help. 
K

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 27, 2012 @ 05:24 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Sounds like you downloaded the “Motif XS Editor VST” which would be the wrong version

Look specifically for the “Motif XS Editor v1.3.0” Not the VST version, NOT the VST version,

Motif XS Editor VST
Motif XS Editor

...are two different things. One runs as a VST3 plug-in, the other works with Studio Manager.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 27, 2012 @ 07:28 PM
kdoog59
Total Posts:  9
Joined  08-03-2009
status: Newcomer

you bet!  Thats what I did.  I just downloaded the correct one and all is well.  Thanks for the help once again!
K

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 28, 2012 @ 10:24 AM
kdoog59
Total Posts:  9
Joined  08-03-2009
status: Newcomer

Hi, now that all the hardware hook ups seem to be working, where can I get an education or tutorial on assigning ports, channels, output selects, to make it all work?  for example, I know Mlan carries MIDI and Audio, but do I have to assign an audio track to each MIDI track I create and align the outputs on the XS to the inputs for audio on the specific track in logic?  if so, this is where I am having difficulty.  I did go through some of the logic help to no avail..If there is postings, pdf’s, a short answer, or a good book let me know…

Thanks again - K

P.S. - I finally got the time after a few years to actually learn my Motif!

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 2 of 3