mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Importing MIDI files: doesnt retain GM instruments?"

     
Posted on: July 19, 2009 @ 11:09 PM
garymf
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-16-2006
status: Experienced

I got some MID files from someone in my band but when i Load them in my Motif or in my cmputer, most of the instruments revert to acoustic piano.

Aren’t the GM loactions supposed to translate somehow??  He save them as SMF files so not sure what to do.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 20, 2009 @ 01:15 PM
sciuriware
Avatar
Total Posts:  9999
Joined  08-17-2003
status: Guru

According to your profile you got NO Motif.
So, how could anyone help you in detail?

I can only advice you to EDIT the Song and find if an unwanted
control message opens the data.

;JOOP!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 20, 2009 @ 01:32 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1737
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Saving as an smf Is Not the same as a Standard MIDI File. Simply put, there are a lot ‘rules’ that govern a Standard MIDI File, which include among other things, the presence of the SYSEX messages that put the instrument into ‘GM’ mode and the corresponding Program Messages and how long of a pause should be between the messages, etc…

It can be quite a bit of work and it sounds like none of this was done…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 20, 2009 @ 11:02 PM
garymf
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-16-2006
status: Experienced

Hmmm.  So how do you save something so that is has the instrument locations?

The crazy thing is now I load the MID file onto my motif, i cahnge the instrumetns by hand, then i save it to a memory card, but when i reload it. it’s all back to acoustic piano!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 20, 2009 @ 11:06 PM
garymf
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-16-2006
status: Experienced
sciuriware - 20 July 2009 01:15 PM

According to your profile you got NO Motif.
So, how could anyone help you in detail?

I can only advice you to EDIT the Song and find if an unwanted
control message opens the data.

;JOOP!

Sorry not sure how my profile got erased. I have Motif Classic 6.

Not sure how i would find a control message.

I never used it for mIDI only played live on it until now.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 21, 2009 @ 01:07 AM
John M.
Total Posts:  45
Joined  12-06-2008
status: Regular

Maybe the following thread is a solution for your problem, although its refers to a Motif XS.

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/442302/

John

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 21, 2009 @ 01:49 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1737
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Hmmm.  So how do you save something so that is has the instrument locations

I have Motif Classic 6. Not sure how i would find a control message.

FROM MOTIF ARCHIVE: “Changing MIDI Files.”
Posted on: August 14, 2004 @ 06:32 PM by Bad_Mister

Re: Changing MIDI Files.

The Motif will respond to a GM Reset command in the Track data, and Program Changes in the Track data will override the setting of a MIX.

A properly prepared GM file will have the GM Reset Command as the first event on track 1. You can see this by pressing EDIT from the main SONG screen.

You can view the data on each track. You will also be able to see the Program Change (PC) events in each track.

Remove the GM Reset by highlighting it and using the F6 DELETE tab.
You can change the Program Change event to the Voice you want or you can just delete it. Once removed your setting of the MIX will be stored. If you change the PC event to the sound you want - it will always recall the proper Voice.

Each Motif sound has a MSB-LSB-PC number (Bank Select-Program Change number). For example, the Power Grand is 063-000-001 [Power Grand]. 

Preset 1 is 063-000
Preset 2 is 063-001
Preset 3 is 063-002
User bank is 063-008
Preset Drums 063-032
User Drums 063-040

In the same way that you delete the data, you can also insert it for each voice / track and save it into the MIDI file…

Hope this helps…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 27, 2009 @ 03:12 PM
garymf
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-16-2006
status: Experienced

Thank you. I tried doing what you said above but either I don’t know enough about what I’m doing or ....actually I don’t know what the other reason could be!

I go into Edit but I can’t seem to find the event to delete.  It just won’t save any of my patch changes.

Here is an example file. maybe that would help explain if someone would be kind of enough to look at! :) Thank you!

It would be great to be able to use these files to practice with.

EDIT: I KEEP TRYING TO ATACH THE *.MID FILE BUT IT WONT’ TAKE NO MATTER WHAT I DO!

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ B’s Knees Organ Bank with an Yamaha MO8
Next Topic:

    S90 Memory Cards - Help! ››