mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "SQ01 Software"

     
Posted on: June 08, 2009 @ 05:35 AM
vincentvampire
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  12-14-2004
status: Newcomer

I am having some trouble with the SQ01 software recognizing the Motif ES.

My set up is as follows: Laptop Windows Vist 64 SP2, SQ01 and the Motif ES connected to the laptop via USB.

I’ve downloaded the lastest USB drivers(version 3.0.3) for vista 64. I’ve even updated the OS on the Motif ES to the latest version and also the SQ01 to version 2.6, which is the latest version available.

However, when I open up SQ01 and click devices, to select the MIDI in/out, the Motif ES is not available to select as part of the devices, which according to the latest SQ01 instructions, should be listed. Can anyone help me with this problem? I hope this doesn’t seem too confusing.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 08, 2009 @ 06:52 AM
nbadesign
Avatar
Total Posts:  994
Joined  08-19-2007
status: Guru
vincentvampire - 08 June 2009 05:35 AM

I am having some trouble with the SQ01 software recognizing the Motif ES.

My set up is as follows: Laptop Windows Vist 64 SP2, SQ01 and the Motif ES connected to the laptop via USB.

I’ve downloaded the lastest USB drivers(version 3.0.3) for vista 64. I’ve even updated the OS on the Motif ES to the latest version and also the SQ01 to version 2.6, which is the latest version available.

However, when I open up SQ01 and click devices, to select the MIDI in/out, the Motif ES is not available to select as part of the devices, which according to the latest SQ01 instructions, should be listed. Can anyone help me with this problem? I hope this doesn’t seem too confusing.

I’m not sure 100%, but as I remember I have read that SQ01 is not Vista compatible software (XP only). You should check this at http://www.yamahasynth.com/support/os_compatibility/

Alex

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 12, 2009 @ 09:51 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

I am sure. SQ01 is not Vista compatible.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 04, 2018 @ 03:02 AM
- Henry -
Avatar
Total Posts:  17
Joined  10-30-2011
status: Regular

Sorry for waking up a very old thread, but in case you stumbled over here and read the above post, I’d like to point out that Bad_Mister’s statement is misleading. There’s actually nothing to stop you from using SQ01 on Windows operating systems later than XP (64-bit versions are fine too); you just need to know how!

It’s true that operating systems evolve over time, and their subsystems are updated and changed in ways older applications can’t anticipate. Imagine for instance that the application requests a background service or driver that is no longer part of the OS, or wants to access parts of the system memory or storage hierarchy that are restricted in a modern OS for security purposes, etc. There are plenty of other possible “dead ends” too, but this is an example of where things can start to go wrong. You won’t necessarily get any pop-up warnings, but one way or another, chances are something will behave unexpectedly. For SQ01, a typical symptom is that the MIDI drivers appear to be unavailable, just like vincentvampire described.

The application itself is obviously unaware of the system level changes, but all modern Windows OS’es have the ability to run executables in Compatibility Mode. This enforces settings that effectively bridge the system level “gaps”, and ensures that legacy software has the handles it needs to connect to the rest of the system.

To properly install SQ01 on Windows Vista or later, you must therefore run the installers with administrator privileges, and with compatibility flags for Windows XP. Here’s how to activate them:

- Right-click the setup.exe file, and select “Properties”.
- Click the “Compatibility” tab.
- Check the Compatibility Mode box ("Run this program in compatibility mode for:")
- Select “Windows XP (Service Pack 3)” from the drop-down list.
- Check the Privilege Level box ("Run this program as an administrator")
- Click [Apply].
- Run the installer.

Repeat the above procedure for each installer, including the updates!

If you’re experiencing the same problem as vincentvampire, with drivers not being detected, you may need to uninstall SQ01 first, and then start from scratch with these setting in place.

- H -

Image Attachments
Compatibility Mode.jpg
  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Saving a New Pattern (That I created)
Next Topic:

    Fading Out ››