mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Saving a New Pattern (That I created)"

     
Posted on: June 07, 2009 @ 05:40 PM
Daman
Total Posts:  8
Joined  05-27-2009
status: Newcomer

Hi I created a simple Pattern (Loop) using a Latin (106) Preset and a Bass Line that I played over it for 4 measures, I want to save this and maybe give it a name, HOW DO I DO THIS? I thought I could hit STORE and NAME it, but nothing happens, and when I shut the Motif off the Pattern dissapears, I am using Pattern #17, because there is NOTHING there (My patterns go to 16), Please Help...Victor

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 08, 2009 @ 04:07 AM
Dreamflight
Avatar
Total Posts:  2688
Joined  03-07-2008
status: Guru

The Motif ES loses all song and pattern data when you switch it off. To store that data permanently you need to go into [File] mode and save your pattern (as an ALL PATTERN or ALL file) to a usb storage device or smart media card so that you can load it when you next need it.

Df.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 08, 2009 @ 07:58 AM
Daman
Total Posts:  8
Joined  05-27-2009
status: Newcomer

Ok Makes sense, but doesn’t the Motif have built in memory where I can save SOME files? I bought my Motif used, and I can swear that some of the Patterns in the Master Mode are NOT factory, and my Motif doesn’t have a smart-media card installed.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 08, 2009 @ 09:21 AM
Dreamflight
Avatar
Total Posts:  2688
Joined  03-07-2008
status: Guru

The only non-volatile memory is the voice/performance/master memory and system settings. However, you can configure the ES to autoload a file on bootup, and you can place any data you wish into that file so that it loads each time without you having to tell it to do so explicitly. Your Masters may contain references to non-existent patterns, but the actual patterns will not be present in the sequencer unless they are loaded there.

It is not possible that any custom patterns were stored permanently on-board, and without some form of file system access to USB or card you cannot preserve them between reboots.

Df.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 09, 2009 @ 06:07 AM
TheDukester
Total Posts:  3345
Joined  01-18-2003
status: Guru

Dreamflight is correct in his explaination. What you “could” do,and actually “should” is get a flash stick and Save what you have presently on the Motif. You say you bought it Used,so it is reasonable that you have data from the previous owner. You also don’t mention whether the DIMMs have been installed for memory expansion. If not you should.

Once you have Saved to and ALL File the existing data, you can reset to the Factory Defaults.
From UTILITY MODE
Press JOB--ENTER (Display propts you for Confirmation)
Press YES to execute (Display will read “Complete” when done).

From here you can Inventory what was installed initially on the board and examine those ‘Factory Patterns’ as well as any differences that came with ‘your’ purchase of the board.

This is time consuming and you may not want to “waste” or “invest” (depending on how you look at it) the time in thoroughtly examining the board. This could,however, help you to understand how things work in the memory process and having Saved what was already in when you purchased the board you can reload that and any work you have already done on the board.

SAVE YOUR WORK!!! SAVE YOUR WORK!!! Probably the thing that is most important about working with this workstation. An ALL File is the safest. You ‘will’ learn how to deal with the sub-sections such as Voice, Performance,Patterns etc. Meanwhile, make sure you understand what Dreamfight has stated about the memory process of the Motif.
Just a thought......

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 09, 2009 @ 07:07 AM
BradWeber
Avatar
Total Posts:  14986
Joined  07-26-2002
status: Legend

Daman,

One other note, if you have your Motif ES setup to do an AUTOLOAD and there is no USB or SmartMedia device with an AUTOLOAD file on it, on power-up the ES will load 16 demo patterns from its on-board ROM.

(See the highlighted portion of the attached image - from page 135 of the Motif Owner’s Manual.)

Regards,

Brad Weber

Image Attachments
Image1.png
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 09, 2009 @ 09:54 AM
aarryn
Avatar
Total Posts:  222
Joined  03-09-2006
status: Enthusiast

Daman,
To address part of your first question which hasn’t been addressed yet:

From Pattern mode, push Job, and then F6 [SONG], option #4 to rename the pattern. This mode is also used for functions such as moving and deleting patterns.

To get you started on basic navigation on the ES8, the best recommendation I can give you is to invest $20 in Keyfax’s “Complete Guide” DVD:
http://shop.motifator.com/index.php/dvds/motif-series-yamaha-dvds/a-complete-guide-to-the-yamaha-motif-es.html

Actually, scratch that. I’ve got an extra copy I can throw your way for half that. Paypal
It’d be WELL worth it to get you going. I learned quite a bit from this. For me, it beat the hell out of trying to figure things out from that novel of a user manual (if yours even came with one). This machine is a beast and it still blows me away how much it can do that I don’t even know about yet. Beyond this DVD, there’s a series of “advanced” instructional DVD’s ... one step at a time :)

Hope this helps.
Good luck!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 14, 2009 @ 02:43 PM
Daman
Total Posts:  8
Joined  05-27-2009
status: Newcomer

Thanks for all the info, you guys know your stuff, I will try to figure this out, I will also email you Aaryn (thanks), I’m still a little confused, I remember having a KOrg M1 years ago, and doing a 16 bar song (or pattern) intro that I saved and named Song 1, that I could call up anytime, without have a smartcard on that KB, so in a sense are you suggesting that there is NO internal memory that I can save something? Other then the DEMO songs which came from factory? (when I bought this used Motif, they were disabled, but I bought them up to hear them, should I disable them ?)
Also while I am at it, I TRIED to record a “Song”, which I did, but I wasn’t able to Import any Drum Pattern, into a track, when I hit Pattern, it goes into “Pattern” mode and out of SOng Mode? SO I ended up recording, bass,keys, etc, with no drums..not cool...victor

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 14, 2009 @ 03:45 PM
Dreamflight
Avatar
Total Posts:  2688
Joined  03-07-2008
status: Guru

Song and Pattern modes are separate ways of working, yes. In Song mode each song is a linear work, starting at measure 1 and continuing until the end of the last recorded data. Pattern mode permits you to construct short (or long!) sections and then chain these sections together. I would recommend you read the ‘Pattern Mode’ section of the manual (starts at page 241) for more info and post with any questions if you get stuck after that.

To record drums into the sequencer in Song mode, you probably want to select an ARP pattern and assign it to the drum track. Check the section on recording songs starting on page 222 of the manual and let us know if you get stuck.

Df.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 15, 2009 @ 12:07 PM
aarryn
Avatar
Total Posts:  222
Joined  03-09-2006
status: Enthusiast

Daman,

Check out pages 185-187 for a full breakdown on MEMORY.

Still, a tad bit confusing/overwhelming, possibly leading one to desire a “Dummies Guide” to it all. (Maybe we should write one - haha).

In short, the Motif DOES have memory, but its functions are limited, so you’re best bet is to invest the extra $100 or so for internal DIMMs, and, at the very least, an external HD/USB flashdrive for the long term. You’ll be glad you did!

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Motif ES Operating System. Need help
Next Topic:

    SQ01 Software ››