mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "How do I transfer music from Motif to Pro Tools?"

     
Posted on: May 26, 2009 @ 09:01 AM
DDS
Total Posts:  2
Joined  05-26-2009
status: Newcomer

I have recorded on my Motif and saved my files to a Smart Media Card. I am now trying to transfer my beats into my Pro Tools but I am not successful with this. Does anyone know what it is that I need to do?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 26, 2009 @ 04:20 PM
dafingaz
Total Posts:  3350
Joined  07-13-2004
status: Guru

You need to hook up your Motif to the ProTools interface (i.e. MBox, Command 24, etc.) via the outputs on the back. You can then record each track into a ProTools session and do further processing in ProTools. I know there are some setups to change in the MIDI setup in ProTools. What I do is record the Motif tracks into my Yamaha AW16G and then burned each track to a CD and import that into ProTools. My workflow would be easier with the AW1600, but this works also....

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 28, 2009 @ 04:58 AM
Wellie
Avatar
Total Posts:  6210
Joined  05-08-2003
status: Guru

DF has pointed you in one direction and that woudl be a fab way to achieve audio in PT.

Another option is to resave your beats as midi files (SMF) and then IMPORT into PT as MIDI data. Then you can use PT to manipulate the MIDI further.
Once you are happy with the midi data in PT you can then play back each MIDI track (mute the others) through the motif and capture the resultant audio in PT (again assuming you connect the audio out of the Motif to the audio in of the connected PT hardware such as an MBox or M-audio or whichever).

The advantage of this method is that the MIDI tracks will automatically be in-sync.

Hope this helps

Cheers

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 01, 2009 @ 11:14 AM
amayhem
Total Posts:  58
Joined  05-26-2009
status: Experienced
Wellie - 28 May 2009 04:58 AM

DF has pointed you in one direction and that woudl be a fab way to achieve audio in PT.

Another option is to resave your beats as midi files (SMF) and then IMPORT into PT as MIDI data. Then you can use PT to manipulate the MIDI further.
Once you are happy with the midi data in PT you can then play back each MIDI track (mute the others) through the motif and capture the resultant audio in PT (again assuming you connect the audio out of the Motif to the audio in of the connected PT hardware such as an MBox or M-audio or whichever).

The advantage of this method is that the MIDI tracks will automatically be in-sync.

Hope this helps

Cheers

One question about this, how would I get the actual sound into the pro tools session tho? Am I wrong in saying Midi Doesn’t actually carry sound, just a signal? I am confused. Please help I’m trying to get this done as well. As of right now I’m using the DL approach and well I’ve had timing issues.

-Mayhem

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 01, 2009 @ 11:43 AM
jkristos
Total Posts:  11
Joined  02-14-2009
status: Regular

That is correct. In either case the end result would be recording each audio track in as well if your goal is to mix the audio.

The difference in the two methods is in whether you also record the midi data to pt to work with before recording in each audio track, or whether you work with the MIDI purely within the Motif before recording that audio.

For flexibility of arrangement of sounds, you would leave it in MIDI until you’re done in many cases (though whether you want to do this can depend on genre in some cases). Whichever way you go, you will ultimately have the most control over your final mix if you do your mix (in audio) in PT.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 01, 2009 @ 03:03 PM
Louder_Than_Good
Total Posts:  302
Joined  07-29-2002
status: Enthusiast
amayhem - 01 June 2009 11:14 AM
Wellie - 28 May 2009 04:58 AM

DF has pointed you in one direction and that woudl be a fab way to achieve audio in PT.

Another option is to resave your beats as midi files (SMF) and then IMPORT into PT as MIDI data. Then you can use PT to manipulate the MIDI further.
Once you are happy with the midi data in PT you can then play back each MIDI track (mute the others) through the motif and capture the resultant audio in PT (again assuming you connect the audio out of the Motif to the audio in of the connected PT hardware such as an MBox or M-audio or whichever).

The advantage of this method is that the MIDI tracks will automatically be in-sync.

Hope this helps

Cheers

One question about this, how would I get the actual sound into the pro tools session tho? Am I wrong in saying Midi Doesn’t actually carry sound, just a signal? I am confused. Please help I’m trying to get this done as well. As of right now I’m using the DL approach and well I’ve had timing issues.

-Mayhem

Hi Mayhem - That’s right, the MIDI is just a signal. That’s why Wellie said the next part. What you do is (after the MIDI track is safely in ProTools) you play the MIDI track in Protools, with the channel output being the Motif (instead of your studio monitors)! Then the Motif turns right around and sends the audio back to ProTools, which has a track ready to record it, just as if it were a singer in a microphone.

It sounds confusing, but once you have done it a few times, it becomes automatic. Just remember to turn the local sound off in the Motif when Protools is sending the MIDI track to it, otherwise you will have double notes.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Leslie Emulation
Next Topic:

    Good simple mixer ››