mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "pro tools"

     
Posted on: February 24, 2009 @ 01:21 PM
jpiedrasanta
Total Posts:  16
Joined  12-05-2006
status: Regular

can i get my pro tools to read the motif as live audio streamed through multiple channels??

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 24, 2009 @ 02:27 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

That will depend on your audio interface. The Motif XS will allow you to output via the L&R;and the assignable L&R;outputs to your Pro Tools audio interface.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 25, 2009 @ 03:10 PM
jpiedrasanta
Total Posts:  16
Joined  12-05-2006
status: Regular

i have the digi 002...... so i can use those 4 outputs to stream individual tracks?? thanks for ur help. 
-Julio

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 25, 2009 @ 07:05 PM
Donald-M
Total Posts:  659
Joined  11-08-2007
status: Guru
jp91786 - 25 February 2009 03:10 PM

i have the digi 002...... so i can use those 4 outputs to stream individual tracks?? thanks for ur help. 
-Julio

If you have digi002 you’re all set.  Just take each of the 4 outputs from the Motif (L/R and the two assignable) into corresponding audio inputs of your Motif.  Experiment with one of the Performances where you can assign each of the 4 voices to one of the Motif outputs.  Arm your PT tracks and you should be good to go!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 25, 2009 @ 07:17 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Well, it is not like four individual outputs (although that is the total). It is actually the Stereo Out, plus to Assignable outputs.

Here is the difference:
The Stereo Outputs (L&R;) include any PART assigned to OUTPUT SELECT L&R;. These PARTS not only go through the SYSTEM EFFECTS (Reverb and Chorus) but they go through the MASTER EFFECTS, and the MASTER EQ prior to going OUT.

The Assignable Outputs (asL&R;) can be used as a stereo pair or you can assign PARTS to just the asL or just the asR. PARTS assigned to the these outputs do not go through the SYSTEM EFFECTS, nor do they go through the MASTER EFFECT or the MASTER EQ.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 26, 2009 @ 01:28 PM
jpiedrasanta
Total Posts:  16
Joined  12-05-2006
status: Regular

what are the step by step instructions on doing what u just said?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 26, 2009 @ 02:33 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Assigning PARTS to OUTPUTS is done as follows:

You would be using SONG mode or PATTERN mode
Press [MIXING]
Press [EDIT]
Press a Track Select button [1]-[16] to select the PART you want to work with
Press [F1] VOICE
Press [SF2] OUTPUT
Here you can assign each PART in turn to the OUTPUTS.
The parameter is called OUTPUT SELECT.

The normal setting is L&R;.
Your options for use with the analog outputs are:
L&R;- you can use the PAN control to send something more left or more right
asL&R;- Assignable Left and Right as a stereo pair
asL - Assignable Left
asR - Assignable Right

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 28, 2009 @ 10:52 AM
1959
Total Posts:  47
Joined  09-04-2008
status: Regular

Julio -

Go to http://duc.digidesign.com

Search for Yamaha Motif XS or Motif XS.

It looks like there are a lot of protools users that export midi from the Motif and import the midi to protools to trigger the motif.  They have the protools interface connected with midi cables to the motif.  They also use the direct outs as Bad Mister described connected to the DI inputs on the protools interface.

This is not as elegant as the AI integration between Yamaha and Cubase (very, very powerful), but I understand the need to track to protools.

1959

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ I’m confused.
Next Topic:

    usb stick ››