mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motix XS Drum/Precussion Snares sounding strange"

     
Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 01:58 PM
stuckinparadox
Total Posts:  8
Joined  02-22-2009
status: Newcomer

I need some serious help trying to get my snares to sound correct again.  I recently purchased and I am very new to using the Motif XS.  Sometimes the snares in the drum kits sound correct and then other times it sounds really strange like there is a cutout and a return.  Sounds kinda like pltht crack.  Does someone know how to correct this without completely reseting the motif?  I am not the only person who uses this where it is at and I feel someone made a change to a setting and I have no idea what setting would cause that.  Thanks in adavance!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 02:49 PM
woodchuck3
Total Posts:  16
Joined  09-11-2008
status: Regular

You could try “just thinking here” not sure what you have saved.
Save an ALL file to a thumb drive, and reset the motif to factory default, see if it fixes it. it it does, save an all voice file. reload your old all file, and load the new all voice file, you should have default sounds, with everything else you have done intact.

Also, when you say “sometimes” do you mean certain kits? certain modes? or just randomly. if this doesn’t help at all, could be the motif, my first XS arrived almost DOA . But, they sent me a brand new one when i complained it froze every 5 minutes and didn’t sound right

Just checked my motif, and made this walkthrough, should help

Insert a USB drive into the back of the motif “assuming you have one”

Press the File button> type all> save

Then, and only after you have saved it

press Utility> and then press the jobs button, will give you the option to reset it

Hope this helps some

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 02:55 PM
stuckinparadox
Total Posts:  8
Joined  02-22-2009
status: Newcomer

I just tried that.  It seems that when i have the monitor speakers set to a certain volume it starts to do that.  I am using M-Audio Studiophile AV-40 Reference Speakers.  They are also only about a month old and have not been pushed to the max.  Is there better monitor speakers on the market that will not cause that problem for a reasonable price?  Also I’m worried that if I hook up to a large PA system that it might sound the same even though I don’t believe it will just worried and trying to save myself from embarassment.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ FC7 in #2 jack?
Next Topic:

    Question for Yamaha - New download with all 3 banks ››