mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Can’t get rid of K-Sounds Kawai voice in autoload file"

     
Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 09:59 AM
DrDel
Total Posts:  51
Joined  01-06-2007
status: Experienced

I have the K-Sounds Kawai piano voices/performances for the Yamaha Motif ES. Some time ago, I loaded some of the voices and performances into the AUTOLOAD file. The problem is, it now takes many minutes to load the AUTOLOAD file when I start the ES up. So, I saved that autoload file out to an ALL file so I can load it only when I want the Kawai voices and performances, and then I deleted (initialized) all of the performances and voices that came from K-Sounds. I’m sure I got them all. However, somewhere, in something, there is still a Kawai voice that gets loaded from the AUTOLOAD file. It appears to be in a user arp, as that is the last message that comes up (loading user arps) before it starts loading the KAWAI EX ff voice. I looked through all of the remaining performances to make sure there are no K-Sounds voices in them, and none of my user voices that I created have any of those voices. No songs are getting loaded with the AUTOLOAD file.  If anyone can tell me how to find whatever is using that voice so I can get back to the point where I can start my ES without growing a beard while I’m waiting, I would be VERY appreciative!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 12:23 PM
DrDel
Total Posts:  51
Joined  01-06-2007
status: Experienced

I answered part of my question after looking through just about everything in the ES. The problem is that there are three user waveforms that are saved with the file. So how do I delete waveforms?

By the way, the forum software says there is a reply to my first message (not this reply) but I can’t see it. I saw in some other posts that this might be a bug. If anyone else see’s a reply, please try to let me know - maybe by creating a new thread that says it’s there?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 12:54 PM
PeterG
Total Posts:  2052
Joined  01-29-2004
status: Guru

You can delete waveforms from the Integrated Sampling Job menu.

Press VOICE
Press Integrated Sampling
[F1] DEST
There you will be able to scroll through the waveforms.
Press JOB
[F2] WAVE
Select Job 02 Delete
Press Enter
Scroll to get the Wave you want to delete
(The K Sounds will show as Ap:KawaiEX ff/mf)
Press Enter
Press YES

You can repeat the process to delete any other samples you wish to remove.

(Also sent to DrDel as a pm in case he cannot see my post!)

Peter

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2009 @ 06:26 PM
DrDel
Total Posts:  51
Joined  01-06-2007
status: Experienced

Outstanding! Thanks so much! I had thought another way to do it that might have worked but this was MUCH easier.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2009 @ 04:06 PM
DrDel
Total Posts:  51
Joined  01-06-2007
status: Experienced

Yup! Worked like a charm. Thanks again for the help.

I’m just adding one clarification in case anyone else tries to do this from this post. After presing JOB press F2 to go to the waveform tab (in case it’s not already on it, and then do 02 DELETE and select the waveform to delete.

Man, I never saw this in the manual! It sure is nice to be able to boot up in 20 seconds again instead of five minutes!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2009 @ 11:59 PM
BradWeber
Avatar
Total Posts:  14986
Joined  07-26-2002
status: Legend

Another useful integrated sampling job that could well have helped you out is the [INTEGRATED SAMPLING]-->[JOB]-->[F3] OTHER-->01: Clean Up Memory. This job will delete any unused user sample waveforms.

So, for example, if you load a bunch of sample voices (and their associated samples) and then delete some of the voices, running this job will delete any samples that are no longer assigned to voices.

Regards,

Brad Weber

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 24, 2009 @ 01:51 AM
PeterG
Total Posts:  2052
Joined  01-29-2004
status: Guru

DrDel, the manual on Page 256 effectively lists the features, but as usual with the manual it does not tell you step by step what to do. Of course, the other issue with manuals like this is that you don’t know what you don’t know, so it is not easy to track down what you think you need!

By the way, reference your comment, I believe that my list of actions is correct. I do indeed say press job, then F2 wave, 02 delete, enter and select wave.

Anyway, glad you are sorted, and by the way, Brad also points out another good Job feature.

Peter

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 24, 2009 @ 04:44 AM
DrDel
Total Posts:  51
Joined  01-06-2007
status: Experienced

Thanks, Brad. That’s good to know. I suppose that would also be useful after resampling a song to a WAV and then wanting to resample again, as that usually gives me a memeory full error when it reaches the time limit for recording to memory. I had been turning the ES off and on to accomplish that. It’s amazing what all is in those menus when you go through them line by line.

And PeterG, sorry for my confusion and correction. You did say it right, and I just was reading it wrong. It was very helpful and I appreciate it!

And yes, the manual does cover a lot but it’s index is the pits, and even going through the e-manual using search for a word or phrase sometimes doesn’t turn up what you need. That’s why this forum is so amazing, with help from you and other experts who are so willing to give a hand. It’s been the best learning tool for me without a doubt. I hope they get the old posts back up soon.

Thanks again to both of you.

-- DrDel

-- DrDel

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ mLan16e, Mulit-Part Editor, and ES8 problem
Next Topic:

    Changing pitch ››