mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Bandwidth Overflow"

     
Posted on: February 21, 2009 @ 03:58 PM
Steve369
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined  09-22-2008
status: Regular

Hello Music Rascals.

I booted up my computer this morning as usual and I received the following mLan message: “Bandwitdth Overflow.”

Now normal I have my XS hooked up via USB, but I’m preparing to move my data .XOA file to my computer.  So went to Utility Mode and switched it to mLan firewire mode.  I shut the computer down and booted it up again and that’s when I got the above message.  I have done this before without a problem.  Any ideas?  Yes I did save my all data .XOA file to my USB key.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2009 @ 06:27 PM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator

You can’t use Firewire/Mlan for data transfer so we are a little confused about why you wanted to turn this on. 

We’ll need a little more info as you don’t decribe what drivers and software you have installed.

If you’ve already saved the data to USb stick, just plug that into the computer and drag and drop the file on to your computer.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2009 @ 09:38 AM
Steve369
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined  09-22-2008
status: Regular

XS8
Cubase 4
PC Intel Dual Core 3.0 4 megs
Tascam FW-1884

I have 3 hardware profiles

Internet Profile - All drivers turned on except mLan/Firewire

FW-1884 Profile - Device for FW-1884 and Yamaha USB Turned On

XS8 Profile - mLan/Firewire turned on device for FW-1884 turned off

Since the Tascam FW-1884 is my main digital/audio interface mixer I use this profile along with the XS8 via USB.  Studio Manager appears to work fine in communicating with the XS8 this way.

If I want to strictly communicate with the XS8, then I will boot up the computer with the XS8 Hardware profile and the drivers for the FW-1884 will be automatically disabled.

Recently I finished my first 16 track song on the XS8.  I followed all the instructions for saving my .XOA file.  I wanted to get the full benefit of mLan so I went to the utility mode and changed the XS8 to mLan from USB to firewire.  Then I booted the computer via the XS8 Hardware profile and after windows load I received the Bandwitdth Overflow” message.

I have done this before without a problem.  This did not happen until after I recently updated the operating system to the current version and updated Studio Manager.

Any ideas?

Steve

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2009 @ 12:15 PM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Moderator

The bandwidth overflow message comes from exceeding the number of ISOC channels available for Firewire in your computer. 

Perhaps the computer did not release the ISOC channels on re-boot. The number of ISOC channels used by the Motif XS should not have changed with the new VST editor or OS upgrade.

Do you know what Firewire chip is inside your computer ?

You may want to look at an external Firewire card with 8 ISOC channels. Many of the internal Firewire interfaces are 4 channels.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 24, 2009 @ 05:38 AM
Steve369
Avatar
Total Posts:  47
Joined  09-22-2008
status: Regular

Well thanks for your support Yamaha.  I was somewhat disappointed with the response, but I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you are only following some kind of protocol for handling this kind of problem.

I did some of my own research and found the topic again in another forum that you participated in.

http://www.01xray.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=Steinberg&Number=432085&page;=&view;=&sb;=&o;=&fpart=1&vc=1

I also went to Microsoft for the kb955408 update.  Before I installed the update I decided to read further in the forum and saw that you also mention about programs/devices running that my conflict with bandwidth so I booted up my computer with the XS8 hardware profile along with the XS8 turned off.  Then I turned my all the programs off like my virus software that are “quick launch.” After that I turned on the XS8 and so far that and Studio Manager is working without a problem.  I also have not seen the “Bandwidth Overflow” problem.

I decided not to install the update, because I have switched to mLan from USB before and didn’t have a problem.  At this point I’ll continue to work and see if this problem develops again.  I now have the following question if you can help?

Is there a way I can measure the bandwidth to check that the firewire flow is at 400 instead of 100?

Thanks for your support.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Virus ti and motif xs8 midi question
Next Topic:

    audio ouputs ››