mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "How much is it worth?"

Posted on: February 16, 2009 @ 11:07 AM
TonyPhillips
Total Posts:  844
Joined  09-16-2005

I put a performance up on YouTube a while back, and it’s generated some interest from folks wanting to buy the backing track and sheet music for the lead.

I haven’t a clue… What’s the going rate for such a thing?

I’m also looking at licensing… and securing registered copyright.... 

In this case, the license granted would be “personal use only, no performance rights.”

Should I grant performance rights by default?  I know if I’m buying Big Band charts, performance rights are granted.  But I have little knowledge in this subject. 

This is one of those things I would probably tell someone to consult a lawyer… But legal fees will easily eat up my profits if I only sell a few copies....

The tune is about 5 minutes long (~75 measures at 1/4=60), is two full sheets for the chart.  I would guess it’d be for “Grade 4” sax players…

While the lead chart is the same for both, the backing track is actually two recordings; one for an Eb Alto, a different one for a Bb Tenor.  I did it this way, instead of transposing the horn part, because the range employed covers the whole range of the sax; a Tenor would have to delve well into the Altissimo to play (as it is, there’s one Altissimo “G” regardless.) A performance demo is also included.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 16, 2009 @ 03:24 PM
mo-z
Total Posts:  724
Joined  11-18-2005