mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XF MIDI Need to transmit specified note range?"

Posted on: June 07, 2020 @ 10:52 PM
ggr343
Total Posts:  12
Joined  10-23-2018

Hi everyone.

I’ve been playing a MOTIF XF7 for several years now.  I pretty much know most of the ins and outs of this wonderful keyboard.

Recently however, I purchased a Roland VT-4 which I now use for vocal harmonies.  The VT-4 will harmonize to my voice as it monitors the keys that I play through a midi connection from my Motif.
I typically play in Performance Mode.  I would like the VT-4 to only follow my right hand to establish the harmony notes. The problem that I have however is that I play bass parts and LH chords on the lower octave keys which has a tendency to create very low, muddy, harmony parts from the VT-4.

I was wondering if there was a way to disable the lower range notes from being transmitted through the midi port to my VT-4 and still be transmitted through the audio out on the Motif.

Any help would be awesome!!

ggr343

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 08, 2020 @ 07:29 AM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

What you’ve asked for can’t be done in Performance mode. However, if you associate the Performance with a zoned Master program, it can.

In Master mode, each Zone can have Note Limits set, and Switches for Internal and External Transmit can be turned on/off. By turning on only the Int Switch for one Zone, and allowing full note range for that Zone, all notes will play the internal sounds. By turning on only the Ext Switch for a second Zone, and limiting the note range for that Zone, external MIDI data can transmit only what you require. See pages 214-215 of the XF Reference Manual for details.