mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Send bank and program changes from Novation Impulse"

Posted on: October 01, 2019 @ 04:35 AM
brwl
Total Posts:  7
Joined  09-30-2019

I’m new to the forum and posting for the first time.  In fact, I’m new to electronic keyboards as well.  I’m grateful that this community is here and appreciate any advice that I can get.

I own a S70XS and love it.  I also own a Novation Impulse MIDI controller.  What I’m trying to do, for live performance, is to set up one or two control(s) on the Impulse (the fewer the better) to dynamically change the programs/voices on the S70.  To that end, I’ve organized the voices for my live performance into a single bank (USR4).  I am not using a computer and would prefer not to.

I’ve spent several days reading the manuals for both keyboards, reviewing the Yamaha data list, looking at videos, and searching the forums.

I’m aware that the Impulse supports Program Change messages, by using a variety of button pushes (Shift-MIDI) and data knob input.  But it seems as though that method is limited to the bank/category that is currently active on the S70 (as the values sent only range from 0 - 127).

Ideally, I would like to be able to access all of the S70 banks and voices directly from the Impulse controls, with as few button pushes/encoder turns/slider adjustments as possible (for example, program one knob for banks and one knob for voices).  The Impulse is able to send MSB and LSB data, but despite numerous attempts at programming knobs, I have not been able to get the S70 to recognize the commands.