mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Recording Pattern or Song Channels in a DAW"

Posted on: June 19, 2018 @ 12:47 AM
marks
Total Posts:  11
Joined  06-18-2018

Hello Friends!

First time poster, and still in the throes of having a huge crush on my recently purchased MOXF8!

I am a Logic Pro X user and have been able to successfully direct multiple Pattern or Song channels to separate channels on the DAW, while using the DAW to record the tracks individually as MIDI and also record the Audio tracks separately by way of Audio In 3 & 4 from the MOXF8.

I realize I can create one audio channel for each MIDI channel in this manner and basically create a piece, one track at a time.

I also know I can completely program things on the MOXF8 using the Song or Pattern sequencer, and record its output as audio.

However, my question is, can I send the Pattern sequencer as MIDI output also such that the MIDI data from the pattern is recorded where it can be subsequently edited?  I don’t seem to be having much luck in this regard. When playing the pattern using the play button, I get only audio output, but none of the MIDI from the pattern.

Any guidance on whether or not this is possible would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Mark

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 19, 2018 @ 01:14 AM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3116
Joined  10-05-2011

Yes, you can do that.

You can start by reading through This Thread, which outlines use with Cubase, but certainly could be translated to Logic Pro.

philwoodmusic also provides some great information in This Thread.

Hopefully, he will chime in on this thread, as he certainly has extensive experience recording MIDI from the MOXF.

Also, for sure search through the Logic Forum Page here at Motifator.