mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MOXF song mutes/solos don’t carry over to Cubase"

Posted on: August 21, 2016 @ 05:55 PM
twistone
Total Posts:  2
Joined  08-21-2016

Hello all,

I’m new to the MOXF but have experience with Cubase and the MX49 for a few years now.  I was excited to learn that I could record my track mutes using the ‘scene track’. 

I started with a 4-bar pattern, in pattern mode, then chained those patterns together and converted to a song.  I then recorded a scene track to capture my real time mutes.  I initially skipped recording a tempo scene since I don’t have tempo changes in this song. 

That part must have worked, because I saved the song in the MOXF, cycled power, and my song still has the proper mutes when played through the MOXF. 

However, when I import the SMF/midi file from the MOXF into Cubase and dissolve parts back to their original tracks, the mutes aren’t included in the midi data!  The parts just play as normal. 

I’ve followed the manual and the tutorial “moving-a-moxf6-moxf8-song-into-a-cubase-project” with no luck. 

Is it even possible to do this?  Does the ‘scene track’ info get included in the midi file for the song, or is it a hardware only feature?  Thanks for any help!

A still excited, yet very frustrated new MOXF6 owner!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 21, 2016 @ 06:53 PM
twistone
Total Posts:  2
Joined  08-21-2016

Well, I kept digging and found my answer (if anyone else was curious or having the same issue).  It’s not a problem/setting; the hardware system uses additional controls that are not part of MIDI (short version). 

In a post on the Yamaha forum, here was the response to a similar question (is-it-possible-to-record-midi-song-control-messages-in-cubase-ai):