mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Using Motif ES and Korg Kronos together"

Posted on: February 29, 2016 @ 05:52 PM
Till2875
Total Posts:  6
Joined  05-15-2004

Hi there! I posted this on a Korg forum also, (not much help there)...I’m hoping i can get some help with my set-up that I’ve hit a road block with...gonna be a long post cause of all the necessary details but hopefully someone out there can give me some insight. I recently purchased a 61 key Kronos to pair with my 76 key Motif ES. I would like to use the Kronos as the master controller to access the motif sounds and play them. Although i’ve been using the Motif for several years and have a full library of performances (combis) built, i’d like to start fresh now that the Kronos is in the picture and have both sound banks @ my disposal. I also want to set it up where sounds from either board can be layered and split on either keyboard bed within combi mode..... I basically want the motif keybed (and controllers) to be an extension of the Kronos’ keybed, and the Motif sound module to be considerd as an external sound source (in song mode; 16 parts available). I want sustain and expression pedal control to come from the Kronos. (essentially 137 key keyboard, 2 Sound modules, building splits and layers in combi) Heres The set-up:

•Motif local control off, send & recieve channel 1
•Kronos global channel 1
•Motif midi out>Kronos midi in ( to send control messages)
•Kronos midi out>Motif midi in via merge box ( to send program changes)
•Kronos mid thru>Motif midi in via merge box ( to send control messages from the motif, thru the Kronos, back to the Motif to play Motif sound module)
• Motif Keybed pushed down to its lowest oct possible (-3), Kronos keybed raised (+3)