mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Setting up motif with logic x"

Posted on: February 01, 2016 @ 08:34 PM
Abztract
Total Posts:  12
Joined  02-01-2016

Hi, I am new to the motif. I have wanted one for ages and today I finally picked one up. First, a disclaimer...I am an ex-soldier with a touch of brain damage. As a result, my thinking isn’t as sharp as it once was. I say this in case anyone reads this and thinks.."This is really obvious”. If you do, you are probably right. Apologies. Ok so I normally use Logic x running on a macbook pro, into a focusrite soundcard and out to my monitors. I was using an old psr as a midi controller before to control logic, omnisphere etc So now, I’d like to use the motif (better keys, modwheel and pichbend where the psr had none) as a midi controller for omnisphere, but also would like to use the motif sounds in logic. What is the best way for me to set it up/configure everything so I can do both? Hope it makes sense...thanks.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2016 @ 05:35 PM
Abztract
Joined  02-01-2016

Wondering why I got views but no replies...is it because I’m a noob? Stupid question? Nobody knows? Confused....

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2016 @ 08:58 PM
bsweat0914
Total Posts:  4
Joined  12-07-2010

In your project set up the Motif as an external instrument in logic X. Then you can select the track drop down and choose what midi channel to use and what sounds you want to play. Hit record and play. Let me know if I’ve over-simplified or you need more info.

You should be able to use the Motif just as you did your old controller, except it will sound lots better.

Good luck!

Bob

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 03, 2016 @ 02:38 PM
Mantra
Total Posts:  51