mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Sample Conversion Questions"

Posted on: May 21, 2012 @ 04:59 PM
bstaggs
Total Posts:  23
Joined  02-25-2012

I am completely new to any form of sampling (unless loading Sound Fonts into my SoundBlaster 15 years ago counts) and I have some questions.

Q1:  Is it legal to sample sounds from my old XP-60, PLG150-AN, or PLG150-VL, and use them personally?  Not for resale, but to play them on my XF.  I doubt it is, but I thought I would check just in case.

Q2:  What software is most popular software to convert sample formats? 

I am really missing the ocarina from my SR-JV80 World board and had little luck finding one for the Motif (I wasn’t thrilled with the GM one).  I did however find this free one: http://rekkerd.org/precisionsound-releases-peruvian-ocarina/ and if it’s legal to convert it to a Motif format I would like to try it out. I would like to get a copy of John Melas’ Waveform Editor, but I was waiting on my coupon from Yamaha’s Anniversary promo.  In the meantime I downloaded a demo copy of Awave Studio and tried to load the EXS format. It appeared to work, but all I got was static when I tried to play the voice in Awave, so I moved on to the SF2 format.  I was able to save each Sound Fount as a XF voice file (ocarina, gliss, legato, staccato) and I was thinking that what might be really cool if I could use the AF1 & AF2 to get the Legato, or gliss effects.

Q3: Given the above voice (standard, gliss, legato, staccato) would it be possible (and legal) to assemble them together into a single XF voice?  I would even be ok with mapping the non-standard voices (gliss, legato, staccato) to unused octaves on the keyboard.

--
bstaggs

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 22, 2015 @ 10:32 AM