mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "S90 and external midi question"

Posted on: February 12, 2014 @ 06:56 AM
-momo-
Total Posts:  3
Joined  02-12-2014

Hi - newbie here! I hope this is the appropriate place for my question. Thanks in advance for any consideration by the experts, I can’t find a clear answer in the manual, and hope what I want to do is even possible…

I currently perform with a S90XS. I also use a Roland Juno 106 as a midi controller to play organ patches on the S90, because the 106’s keyboard is better suited for organ playing than the S90’s weighted piano keys. In this case, all I’m doing is connecting the 106’s midi out to the S90’s midi in, selecting the appropriate patch on the S90, and then play it using the Juno 106.

That’s all I’m using the Juno for - it’s not used as a tone generator. In fact it doesn’t even work anymore as a synth, but its keyboard and midi still work fine to control the S90.

What I was hoping I could do was use the Juno to play one patch on the S90, and have the S90 play another patch - ie: both keyboards control different patches, but the S90 plays both. This is not a layer or a split, but maybe I could somehow control one patch on the S90 from the Juno (say, via a specific midi channel that the patch is set to receive), and have the S90 keyboard play a completely different patch.

In other words, have two completely different tones generated from the S90 at the same time, one from each keyboard. I looked at multi-mode as maybe a way to do this, but the documentation seems focused on doing this from a DAW, as opposed to other MIDI keyboard controllers.

Is this possible? Or am I nuts.

Thanks in advance!

-JM

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 05, 2014 @ 04:34 PM
keyman7