mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Adding sound effects? Sampling?"

Posted on: March 17, 2014 @ 04:53 PM
rightbrainv@yahoo.com
Total Posts:  2
Joined  03-17-2014

Bear with me… I’m not a musician.  I am helping a local theatre with a production of Shrek. 

In short, they would like to have “fart” and “burp” sound effects to play in a song. 

Ergo… it needs to burp and fart on beat.  Can this be done with the Yamaha S90-xs?  Recommendations?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 18, 2014 @ 12:08 AM
digitalperformer7
Total Posts:  253
Joined  12-07-2011

You can’t with the S90XS. Use a sampler instead, or a Motif series workstation starting from Motif classic up.
Alternatively you migt use an audio/MIDI sequencer such as Logic, Digital Performer or Sonar to play back audio chunks in time.

To help and answer your question there are tons of possibile solutions, but if you don’t have somewhat little technical background is like trying to empty the sea with a spoon.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 18, 2014 @ 02:00 AM
rightbrainv@yahoo.com
Total Posts:  2
Joined  03-17-2014

Kinda what I figured.  Thanks!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 18, 2014 @ 03:29 AM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

Seems like overkill to purchase something else when you already own an S90 XS. While the advice given you is true, the S90 XS does not have a sampler but it does have the ability to playback AUDIO directly from a USB Stick or AUDIO stored on its internal 192MB internal memory.

I assume a musician will be manning the keyboard during the performance and can access the data as required (on cue).