mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MIDI Program Change?"

Posted on: November 21, 2012 @ 03:30 PM
roxyartist
Total Posts:  2
Joined  11-21-2012

Hi,

I’m new to the keyboard world: I’m a singer and an acoustic piano player. But I just bought an MM8.

This may be a very dumb question, but how do I select the voices that playback the MIDI files from my USB storage device?

And please, break it down like you’re talking to a five-year-old. Because I have no idea what I am doing.

Thanks in advance!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2012 @ 04:00 PM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

The short answer is: You don’t.

The file that you are playing back was (presumably) created by a person somewhere (we’ll call them the Author). The Author made the selections for the VOICES you hear playing by inserting coded messages into each TRACK of the Song (file).

In order for you to change what instrument is selected to play on a specific TRACK, you would need to edit the Author’s work.  This means you would have to “open” the file in a MIDI Sequencer. The type of messages are called “BANK SELECT” and “PROGRAM CHANGE”. These dual messages tells the receiving instrument what BANK to choose, and then within that BANK of sounds, which individual sound (called a “VOICE") to choose.