mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Need help hooking up MM6 to either audiointerface or pc"

Posted on: July 16, 2012 @ 05:01 PM
kmart
Total Posts:  87
Joined  09-25-2010

I am a newbie. I am following a video tutorial for my cubase software.
It says I need to see a red light going up and down in cubase when I play the keyboard. I don’t even have the mm6 communicating with either the interface or the the pc. The mm6 does not come with a driver to my knowledge.My pc was trying to communicate but nothing came of it.

I don’t know if I need two midi cables or my Yamaha u16 cable to connect. I checked manuals and I don’t see guidance. I don’t even know if it’s “in” to “in” with the cable, or if I need two cables. I have the Yamaha u16 driver installed successfully but, it looks like the keyboard is supposed to be hooked up to the audiointerface. If that is true I need the midi cables. Do I need them both. It seems I need the u16 driver inside the pc and the midi cables to connect the keyboard to the interface.

I’ve been away from this for a long time.Somebody help me out if you will.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 17, 2012 @ 02:50 PM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

First, you want to determine what you want to record to Cubase. MIDI or AUDIO or both.

MIDI data can be transmitted from your MM6 directly to your computer via a USB connection (single USB cable) using the Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver.

Go to http://download.yamaha.com

Select your country
Type in your Product Model: MM6
When the Search Results appear confirm your MM6