mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Quick question about my stage setup.."

Posted on: March 05, 2010 @ 03:46 PM
phurd
Total Posts:  76
Joined  10-22-2008

Most of my experience is in my home studio and I’m not very experienced with stage set-up’s so bare with me.

On stage I run a left/mono out of my XS to the main mixer and play mono out of the P.A. I also run a line out from the right to a personal monitor.

After reading another post here on the forum, I get the impression that this may be incorrect.

Am I losing anything in sound quality and, because I’m using the right out, is the XS treating this less as a mono signal and more as a split stereo signal? Would it be better to have a personal mixer with me, i.e. mono out to the mixer, then a line out to the main board and a mon out to my monitor?

The way I’ve been doing it seems to sound OK but I’m wondering if my sound would be better using a personal mixer instead.

Thanks,
Patrick

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 05, 2010 @ 07:19 PM
milari
Total Posts:  179
Joined  01-25-2009

My advice is that live on stage, stereo is not important because the musicians create that perception by where they stand in he room. It is more important that you hear yourself and others clearly so you can keep time and tune. Leave the mixing to the sound man, that is his job. In large arenas stereo goes out the window.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 05, 2010 @ 07:20 PM
tbone
Total Posts:  318
Joined  02-15-2009

Hey Patrick,

If you’re running mono, then the left/mono out is the best choice to the mains/PA.  However, your sound would be better in stereo.