mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "VH100 - connections to the desk and D-I boxes….settled the discussion for me!"

Posted on: June 21, 2009 @ 04:27 PM
pb125770
Total Posts:  53
Joined  11-26-2005

Hi Folks,

I’ve been using the VH-100 in my Motif 6 Classic for a couple of years now. Never had a problem. I connect from the mic into the A/D Left(mono) input (xlr-jack lead), let the card work its magic, and then out through the Assignable Left. That jack to jack goes into a DI box and an XLR out of the DI plugs into a snake to take it to the FOH Mixer.

So, this weekend I had a few problems - the desk couldn’t get a signal. Panic ensued as I changed all the leads involved etc. Still no fix (ok - lets just jump to the fix --- somehow the DI had switched to the -40Db setting using a switch which I didn’t even know existed!)....anyway back to my point.

Our guitarist and bass player, when trying to help fix the issue couldn’t understand my setup. Their fundamental problem was that they said I shouldn’t be using the xlr (from the mic) directly into the A/D input and that I should go into another DI box prior to going to the Motif. This is because the xlr is balanced and the jack obviously isn’t (in this case). Therefore their logic was that this was ‘wrong’ and that I should use a balanced xlr-xlr into a DI box and then jack out of that into the Motif.