mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Need piano advice!"

Posted on: February 21, 2018 @ 03:05 PM
smithjr
Total Posts:  5
Joined  02-21-2018

Hey there, guys! Is anybody here, who knows anything about piano? Need your help!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2018 @ 03:12 PM
smithjr
Joined  02-21-2018

I’m learning to play piano and I have Sohmer Baby Grand 1960 Piano. My teacher has Steinway piano...And the difference is amazing! Steinway plays so smoothly, and the key stroke is short and smooth (unlike my piano). It sounds much more better!! I can afford a Steinway or something like this.., but I wonder if, as a beginner, I really need such a nice piano, how do you think?One more question - what’s the difference between horizontal and vertical piano? Found this article http://pianobrands.info/types-of-pianos/ , and it seems clear for me, but what about the sound? Thanks in advance for any replies to this post.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2018 @ 03:37 PM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

I think you should learn on a piano which you enjoy playing. People often spend little time practicing, or even quit playing altogether, when the instrument (not just piano) doesn’t satisfy them.

That doesn’t necessarily mean you need to buy a Steinway. It’s possible that characteristics of the action of your current piano can be adjusted to your satisfaction by a good piano technician. Perhaps your piano teacher might be able to provide a referral. I suggest investigating that before considering purchase of another piano.