mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Has Cubase-Motif integration steered you from your other DAW?"

Page 1 of 2
Posted on: February 16, 2017 @ 03:53 PM
dsetto
Total Posts:  435
Joined  01-24-2014

Hey all. Has the Cubase-Motif integration steered you away from your other DAW?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 16, 2017 @ 05:33 PM
meatballfulton
Total Posts:  3022
Joined  01-25-2005

I’ve been using Ableton Live for about six years now, I was using hardware recorders before that.

I had tried Cubase AI a few times back when I had an ES and my computers were always too underpowered. I could launch the program but it would hang on loading a project. However I could run Acid, Live and Reason with no problems.

Once I got the XFin 2011 I wanted to try Cubase again so I could use the VST editor (Live does not support VST3). I finally had a computer (MacBook Pro) powerful enough to do so but I have never been happy with the Cubase UI. Basic tasks that are easy to do in Live, literally without having to open the manual, required lots of reading and experimenting to understand how to do it in Cubase. There are some things only possible if I upgrade from AI and some things not even possible in Cubase. I hate the multiple windows on the screen, a real problem when using a 13” laptop!  Steinberg is more strict about requiring current OSes, Live still runs fine on Mac OS 10.7 but Cubase 8 requires 10.11. Upgrading my OS forces me to make paid upgrades to other applications that I use.

What I do like about Cubase is the simpler step sequencing function and channel strips controllable by the XF in Remote mode. I have yet to use the notation features but it’s nice to have that available.