mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Is it possible to sample other keyboards?"

Posted on: August 26, 2011 @ 03:43 AM
FutureXFOwner
Total Posts:  6
Joined  07-11-2011

I am new to workstations, and just wanted to know if this was possible with any of the Motif models...?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 26, 2011 @ 08:40 AM
meatballfulton
Total Posts:  3022
Joined  01-25-2005

Yes, you can sample other keyboards just as you can sample any other audio source.

It’s never the same as actually using the other keyboard but if you have certain favorite sounds you just can’t do without, it can be done.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 26, 2011 @ 05:25 PM
torsogong
Total Posts:  37
Joined  08-25-2005

Here’s how I sample other keyboards. I run my Yamaha SY85 through a mixer to boost the signal. (Some keyboard output signals may not be strong enough to get an adequate recording level in your instrument’s sampler. Maybe yours does if it has a preamp.) I take the main outputs of my mixer into the A/D inputs of my Motif 6. Make sure you turn off your mixer’s volume sliders for the instrument you’re recording into, or you will get heck of feedback!!