mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Way over my head"

Posted on: February 09, 2016 @ 10:05 PM
SalinaEd
Total Posts:  4
Joined  02-09-2016

I am a public school music teacher with some skills in (and a great affinity towards) music technology. We are doing The Addams Family for our school musical. It comes with a patch list for the keyboard part. I have a motif 8 and up until now I have only used it as a portable piano for my groups. The musical company offers all the patches (which is supposed to save me hours of programming). My problem is that I have no idea what they are talking about. I think I should buy the patches (whatever patches are!) How do I load (program?) these onto my motif 8 if possible? How do I set up the keyboard so that the keyboardist can change songs as quickly as possible while playing?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 10, 2016 @ 12:38 AM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

Welcome to the forum.

“Patch” is a generic term for the programming that produces a particular sound in a synthesizer. It originated from the time when “patch cords” (wires/cables) were used to interconnect various synth circuits. Yamaha doesn’t use the term “patch” for that purpose.

A few questions…
1) Do you have an original Motif (Classic), or is it a MO?
2) Exactly what is the company offering you?
- What media will the “patches” be supplied on?
- What are the file names, complete with extension?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 10, 2016 @ 01:08 AM
SalinaEd
Joined  02-09-2016

I’m sure the difference between classic and MO. My unit says Motif 8 on the back panel and the manual says Motif 6, Motif 7, Motif 8.

The company is called Theatrical Rights Worldwide. Here is what they say on their website.