mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MO6/8 Instrument Defintion File Creator"

Posted on: December 24, 2015 @ 03:53 PM
larrybud
Total Posts:  9
Joined  01-01-2011

Hey all, just got back into playing with my MO8.  I’m also a software developer, and I wrote a windows program to create an instrument definition file which Sonar/Cakewalk can use based on the banks in your system. 

Since I only have 1 laptop, and one keyboard, and don’t know anyone else who has this keyboard, I certainly don’t have any way to test it beyond what I have.

So I’ve attached the program here, as well as the instrument file which I created off of my keyboard.  I haven’t changed any user presets so this .INS file should work for any of you with the stock MO if you don’t want to run the program yourself.

However, I wouldn’t mind some testers.  Instructions are included on the screen.  I’ve also included a screen shot of the app.  Pretty simple to use:

First, just unzip it into a folder of your choosing (I didn’t write an install for this), and double click on “YamahaMOInstrument.exe” to run it.  Then

1) Hook up your midi connections
2) Click Browse to choose/enter your .INS file name
3) Enter an Instrument Name
4) All of the banks are selected by default, but if you want to only download certain banks, you can unselect those you don’t want.
5) Click on “Start Transfer”

Takes 3-4 minutes to transfer the entire keyboard’s info, and saves it to the file you specified.

Please let me know if you’ve tried it, and any successes or failures that you have.

Image Attachments
screenshot.png
File Attachments
Yamaha MO Instrument Definition Creator.zip  (File Size: 107KB - Downloads: 506)
Yahama MO8 Defintion.zip  (File Size: 12KB - Downloads: 622)