mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif 6 - midi recording question… record, playback with different voice setting"

Posted on: January 27, 2022 @ 06:19 AM
frmm+
Total Posts:  8
Joined  01-27-2022

I’ve never used midi before in my life, though I understand the concept behind it - thought I should mention this upfront. I am not looking to export midi information, but record and use midi information within the Motif 6 itself.

Here is the context… Sometimes I will record a keyboard part (live performance into my DAW) using one voice setting, then record it again (live performance) using another voice setting - then I will try mixing in the 2 voice settings to see which one sits better in the mix with the other recorded instruments. There are times where I might want to try 4 or 5 different sounds to see which one is the “right” sound for the tune. This means performing the song 4-5 different times but changing the voicing each time I record it.

My question is this: In my Motif 6 can I record my performance in the unit using midi and then play back the recording with different voice settings? For example, could I play/record a Bach 2 part exercise in the Motif and then play it back exactly as I recorded it using a piano, then play it back with an organ, then a string ensemble, etc.? One good performance (recorded using midi) - then hear it back using different voices without having to play it over and over again to hear what it sounds like with different voice settings.

Do I even need to use midi to accomplish this within the Motif itself since I’m not exporting the information?

Thanks in advance for your input (and any pertinent links).

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2022 @ 12:48 PM
- Henry -
Total Posts:  164