mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Click when using Bass patches in performance mode"

     
Posted on: September 30, 2019 @ 12:51 PM
daddyrnr
Total Posts:  21
Joined  10-02-2012
status: Regular

Ok...to make it simple....everyone knows Jessie’s Girl....  Have 3 patches in my performance...String with pad, synth for the bridge and bass in the left hand. I am sending all of my patches thru the Left Mono output with no issues. I am sending bass thru one of the assignable outputs.

If i play the bass patch all by itself (Voice mode) ...it seems to work without issue and no click coming out of L Mono. As soon as I put it into the performance and no matter what output I use, I get an audible click when I press down the keys while playing.

tried turning levels down, different cables, different amps....it is something in performance mode that is causing the issue....just not sure what it could be.

Any suggestions??

Thanks in advance

Dan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 30, 2019 @ 03:45 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11030
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

There are numerous possibilities. Unless someone else posts a solution, I suggest that you download my Init User Banks (from
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/461620/), copy your relevant Voices and Performance to the XF initialized by the X0A file (read the Warning), and determine if the problem still exists. If it does, and the relevant Voices and Performance are dependent only on Waveforms from ROM, save an All file “without sample”, ZIP and post it so that we can examine it.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 01, 2019 @ 10:13 AM
daddyrnr
Total Posts:  21
Joined  10-02-2012
status: Regular

OK..after playing around for a while I seem to have narrowed it down. When I adjust the release time it seems that the click goes away. When I am in the performance settings and I am editing just the bass patch, does the release is that a global change for the performance? I know when I edit it I am in the edit for part #4 which is where my bass patch resides. Have not had a change to try other patches but from what I can tell it only affected the bass release as I do not hear it in my synth patch for the bridge.

Not sure why it is doing this in performance but seems to be gone.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 01, 2019 @ 11:25 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11030
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
daddyrnr - 01 October 2019 10:13 AM

OK..after playing around for a while I seem to have narrowed it down. When I adjust the release time it seems that the click goes away. When I am in the performance settings and I am editing just the bass patch, does the release is that a global change for the performance? I know when I edit it I am in the edit for part #4 which is where my bass patch resides. Have not had a change to try other patches but from what I can tell it only affected the bass release as I do not hear it in my synth patch for the bridge.

The Envelope Generator (EG) settings in a Performance are offsets (+/-) to the values set in the related Voice. There are two types of Release Time settings per Part in Performance mode, one for the Amplitude EG and another for the Filter EG. You didn’t specify which you’re referring to, and each will affect the sound differently. Those settings are not Global.

 

daddyrnr -

Not sure why it is doing this in performance but seems to be gone.

The EG settings in a Performance Part are offsets to the values set in the related Voice. I’ve repeated that point because it’s important to understand how they can cause a Part (Voice) to sound differently than in Voice mode - simply, non-zero EG settings in Performance mode modify those set in Voice mode. It can be useful to be able to modify Parameters of a Voice used in a Performance Part without having to edit in Voice mode, since other Performances, Songs, or Patterns might use that Voice. However, that makes it possible to offset settings so far that the results might be undesirable.

If you’d like more targeted analysis, then post an All file.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Rotary Speed help
Next Topic:

    Dimm 128MB expandable in XF? ››