mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Firewire connection problem"

     
Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 07:25 AM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular

Hello
I want to use my MotifXS8 as an audio interface for my computer (Windows10), so all sound from computer (not only daw but also sound from windows mediaplayer, youtube etc) will be played from my monitor speakers connected to motif audio outputs.

I installed the latest driver and connected the motif.
The drivers appeared in device manager and playback devices, but no sound is coming out. The icon of speaker on the bottom windows toolbar has red cross on it and doesnt even show the volume fader when clicked on but when i choose “playback devices” it shows yamaha fw driver as an active driver but also without the volume indicator that is usualy present there.
on motif i chose Voice audio - ad input =m1+2 and mlan L/R
on auto load i have chosen IEEE1349 driver as FW (since if i chose the mLan option and restart the device, the computer doesnt see motif at all
I am doing everything according to the manual (i think)
Where could be the problem?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 08:54 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Please go to Device Manager, expand “Sound, video, and game controllers”, do a screen capture, and attach it to a post.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 09:08 AM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular

her it is. Motifator dont let me upload the picture for some reason so here is external link
btw. MIDI is working right, so its not an issue with the cable itself
https://ibb.co/mCwh4m

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 09:18 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Olihen - 25 December 2017 09:08 AM

her it is. Motifator dont let me upload the picture for some reason so here is external link
btw. MIDI is working right, so its not an issue with the cable itself
https://ibb.co/mCwh4m

I can’t view that. Zip the screen capture and attach it.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 09:27 AM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular

ok

File Attachments
screenshot.zip  (File Size: 210KB - Downloads: 42)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 09:55 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Thanks.

Looks good, “Yamaha Steinberg FW WDM Audio” is what I needed to see.

You now have to make that your default Playback Device. I don’t use Windows 10, so I can’t help with that.

Image Attachments
screenshot2.jpg
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 10:20 AM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular

I have set that driver as default but it doesnt send any signal out of the computer
Here i attach two screenshots. One with using yamaha driver and second one using headphones plugged to inbuilt interface of the computer.

If i select yamaha driver, it appears as active, but there is no signal indicator, the icon of speaker on windows toolbar is red and its sending no signal to motif.
(translation - the “výchozí zařízení” means default device)

If i use the headphones and inbuild souncard there is the bar that shows the level of signal coming to headphones and everything goes smoothly.

File Attachments
screenshots 2.zip  (File Size: 1603KB - Downloads: 44)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 11:26 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Which version number of the YSFW driver is installed to Windows?

Which firmware version is installed to the mLAN16E2 interface in the XS?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 11:51 AM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 25 December 2017 11:26 AM

Which version number of the YSFW driver is installed to Windows?

Which firmware version is installed to the mLAN16E2 interface in the XS?

the driver downloaded from internet is Yamaha Steinberg FW Driver V1.6.6
motif xs firmware is 1.51.3
if i open the driver program on pc it says MOTIFXS8 IEEE 1349: 1.07 so thats probably the interfaces in motif i suppose

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 01:04 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Olihen - 25 December 2017 11:51 AM

the driver downloaded from internet is Yamaha Steinberg FW Driver V1.6.6

OK, assuming 32-bit or 64-bit version to match Win 10.

 

Olihen -

motif xs firmware is 1.51.3

I’m not sure that it matters, but version 1.60 is the most recent, and includes some nice new features.

http://download.yamaha.com/file/21001

 

Olihen -

if i open the driver program on pc it says MOTIFXS8 IEEE 1349: 1.07 so thats probably the interfaces in motif i suppose

Firmware version 1.07 for the mLAN16E2 is the correct one.

If you have any old mLAN drivers installed on Windows, I suggest they be uninstalled.

In some cases the Windows 10 FW/1394 driver causes problems. See
https://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/Firewire-1.htm

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 01:16 PM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 25 December 2017 01:04 PM
Olihen - 25 December 2017 11:51 AM

the driver downloaded from internet is Yamaha Steinberg FW Driver V1.6.6

OK, assuming 32-bit or 64-bit version to match Win 10.

 

Olihen -

motif xs firmware is 1.51.3

I’m not sure that it matters, but version 1.60 is the most recent, and includes some nice new features.

http://download.yamaha.com/file/21001

 

Olihen -

if i open the driver program on pc it says MOTIFXS8 IEEE 1349: 1.07 so thats probably the interfaces in motif i suppose

Firmware version 1.07 for the mLAN16E2 is the correct one.

If you have any old mLAN drivers installed on Windows, I suggest they be uninstalled.

In some cases the Windows 10 FW/1394 driver causes problems. See
https://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/Firewire-1.htm

thank you for your patience. Ok assuming i have everything set right, the problem may be remains of some old drivers. I remember that the connection worked on the same computer year or two ago but i am not sure if it was already win 10 or xp, because i wasnt using that computer for some time.
I try reinstall windows, thre is not much of data i need on that computer anyways.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 01:33 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Olihen - 25 December 2017 01:16 PM

thank you for your patience.

You’re welcome.

 

Olihen -

Ok assuming i have everything set right, the problem may be remains of some old drivers. I remember that the connection worked on the same computer year or two ago but i am not sure if it was already win 10 or xp, because i wasnt using that computer for some time.
I try reinstall windows, thre is not much of data i need on that computer anyways.

Before you reinstall Windows, I suggest that you first look for old mLAN drivers, or at least try the legacy 1394 driver as mentioned in the article I linked to.

Good luck.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 01:49 PM
Olihen
Total Posts:  22
Joined  05-26-2010
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 25 December 2017 01:33 PM
Olihen - 25 December 2017 01:16 PM

thank you for your patience.

You’re welcome.

 

Olihen -

Ok assuming i have everything set right, the problem may be remains of some old drivers. I remember that the connection worked on the same computer year or two ago but i am not sure if it was already win 10 or xp, because i wasnt using that computer for some time.
I try reinstall windows, thre is not much of data i need on that computer anyways.

Before you reinstall Windows, I suggest that you first look for old mLAN drivers, or at least try the legacy 1394 driver as mentioned in the article I linked to.

Good luck.

I tried the thing with the old driver and it worked! Greeeeeeeeeeeeeat!
Really appreciate your help. I am 100% sure i wouldnt figure this myself ever

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2017 @ 05:46 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10490
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Olihen - 25 December 2017 01:49 PM

I tried the thing with the old driver and it worked! Greeeeeeeeeeeeeat!

Excellent! I’m glad things are working correctly now.

 

Olihen -

Really appreciate your help. I am 100% sure i wouldnt figure this myself ever

Getting the FW connection to work can be tricky sometimes. That’s why I wanted to make sure everything related to the Motif was right before suggesting a Windows problem, but the default driver for the 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller in Windows 10 is apparently troublesome.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ recording instruments INTO XS?
Next Topic:

    Motif XS Master Mode Sound switching problem ››