mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Tempo track?"

     
Posted on: February 01, 2009 @ 07:06 AM
Rosy
Total Posts:  11
Joined  01-30-2009
status: Regular

After many hours of head scratching I have discovered that if there is a change in tempo during a track created in cubase and exported to midi then it doesn’t work with the Motif.  The track just doesn’t load properly if at all.
So how do I change the tempo?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 02:44 AM
BradWeber
Avatar
Total Posts:  14986
Joined  07-26-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Tempo track?

I’m not sure why the tempo changes are not transferring from Cubase to the Motif, but the Motif does have a tempo track in song mode (and in pattern chain mode) into which you can insert tempo changes.

To insert tempo events in a song, simply:[list][*]Press [SONG];
[*]Select the song you wish to edit;
[*]Press [EDIT];
[*]Press the [F4] TRSEL repeatedly until the Track field (at the top right of the Song Edit dialog) indicates Tempo Track; and
[*]Press the [F5] INSERT button and specify the location of the tempo change as well as the desired tempo.[/list:u]Hope this helps.

Regards,

Brad Weber /forums/images/icons/cool.gif alt=

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 04:55 AM
Rosy
Total Posts:  11
Joined  01-30-2009
status: Regular

Re: Tempo track?

How is tempo recorded in midi? I cannot see any reference to this in the list editor? Just a thought!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 05:29 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Tempo track?

Tempo has its own dedicated track.
In Cubase you view the TEMPO Track by pressing [CTRL] + T
Or by going to PROJECT > TEMPO TRACK
You can draw in tempo changes with the “pencil” tool.

In the Motif: you can view the Tempo Track in SONG mode by:
Press [EDIT] to view the Event List
Press [F4] TR SEL (Track Select) repeatedly to toggle between three types of tracks
1) a Normal MIDI track 1-16
2) the SCENE Track where you record Scenes and Mutes
3) the TEMPO Track where you record tempo changes.

As Brad mentioned, there is no Tempo Track in PATTERN mode… all Sections of a PATTERN share the same tempo, because the Sections are looping.... Tempo requires a linear structure so that Tempo events can be placed along the time line. Tempo tracks can be made in PATTERN CHAINs because you are mapping out the sections on a linear time line.

Tempo Tracks are automatically exported from Cubase when you export the MIDI FILE.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ At wit’s end!
Next Topic:

    Brad’s List: TOP MOTIF/MOTIF ES FORUM QUESTIONS ››