mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Cubase 5 and mLAN"

   
Page 1 of 2
Posted on: January 30, 2009 @ 07:22 PM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

The following drivers are installed:
mLAN DRiver 1.6.3 for device networks
Yamaha extension for steinberg 1.4.1



I am confused. While Cubase 4.5.2 had no problem recognizing my MOTIFXS8 and N12 mixer according to the mLAN Graphic Patch bay, CUBASE 5 ignores my XS8 and N12 totally.

Do I need a new mLAN driver for communication with Cubase 5? The special Steinberg/Yamaha driver is still not available?

Did I forgot something to set after installing Cubase 5.

I am lost.

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2009 @ 12:02 AM
Frank
Avatar
Total Posts:  1422
Joined  11-04-2002
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

hi jan this info from steinberg

Hello,


you have to install a driver update for your N-12. Cubase 5 is programmed with Unicode, and the “old” N-12 driver does not support this. The new driver does. I’m not sure if Yamaha has allready put the new driver on there download pages.

Gr,

Chris

-----------------------------

also please dear yamaha for c5
give us a working 64bit driver for vista soon.[win7]
my wishlist for 2009

also i wish a non support driver for linux,
the community will support it,
some programming code for the mlan protokoll like the handchakes or more....
mlan is near network so its easy possible,
and think different linux user dont need support they need infos.

also i need a small dummy programm for the i88x,
to route the adat in outs directly to the 8in outs.
to use as real adat interface.
you can add also this in the firmware by pressing a button combination.

its time to wake up for programmers,
if yamaha sleeps to long mlan will dye in the future of bad support from yamaha for me.

and please dont tell me in times of programming firmware its for me necassary to buy all your new products with the future future mlanprotokoll xxxx.
yes yamaha you have one off the best standards but it will never grow how you this support.
thats because one customer says this dont work the next 100dred in the forum will never try this,
if its not easy plug and play.

know we have
its not easy plug and play and it doesnt work,
so you sleeping thats all your products that dont work together.
so solve this probleme now not next week.

ok i know you will solve it but this time please fast.


LG Frank

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2009 @ 02:07 AM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

I do not think it has something to do with mLAN or N12 drivers.

It is the Steinberg extension software 1.4.1 which seems not to work with Cubase 5.

Even when I transfer a CPR file made with Cubase 4.5.2 it says that the MOTIFXS8 cannot be recognized or something like that. You do not find the ports etc named as MOTIFXS or N12. Also the N12 cannot see Cubase 5 so remote via N12 does not work either.

I am almost sure I need another Steinberg extension software than 1.4.1?

Bad Mister, what do you think?

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2009 @ 02:21 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

There will be new Yamaha Extensions for Steinberg DAWs for the n12, Motif XS, and Motif-Rack XS so that the Templates will show up when you start a New Project, the Motif XS ports will be identified by name and you will also get the n12’s VST CONNECTION audio ports identified by name… These Yamaha Extensions for Steinberg are written so that when you connect a Yamaha product to Steinberg software, it translates items like the ports (MIDI and Audio) so that they are identified by name, it allows you to IMPORT Motif XS SONG data from an ALL data file, it automatically alerts you when your mixer (n-Series) is Cubase Ready!, allows you to use the CLICK LEVEL function and other convenient functions for each Yamaha product that you connect.

Just FYI:
In the coming days, there will also be a firmware update for the n12 (v1.03)… A firmware update is quite a bit more serious and quite a bit different from the “extensions” mentioned above. Firmware updates change the operating system of your hardware. The next firmware update for the n-Series is NOT for everyone...please read the documentation CAREFULLY before you proceed with the n12 firmware update.

(Of course, you should read all documentation that concerns firmware updates carefully… but in this instance you definitely want to understand what is on offer. Because it is not a firmware update that everyone should automatically do… it will depend on how you are using your n12).

This firmware update is only for use with the new Yamaha Steinberg Firewire driver… not if you want to continue to use the existing mLAN driver v1.6.3.

If you still own legacy mLAN products (01X, mLAN16E, MY16-mLAN, i88X) you will want to stay with the existing mLAN Driver 1.6.3

Once your flash the firmware to 1.03, the n12 will be permanently changed to use the YSFW driver. There is no going back. ... Just FYI

I send you this because I encounter so many users that simply go to the download page and download and install everything (without reading what it is they are downloading)… If you are one of those types and you are reading this, please don’t ignore the information provided with anything you download… It can sometimes be very, very important.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2009 @ 02:49 AM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Bad Mister,

Thanks for your answer. I suspected it more or less that it had something to do with that YSFW driver. No, I am not going to work with those 01x, or Mlan16E etc. kind of devices.
Just the XS8 and N12 and maybe in future one of those new steinberg hardware.

After installing this new Yamaha extension software etc. is it still possible to use my Cubase 4.5.2 as well with this new extension software and N12 firmware update? However, I think in future the need will be less and lesser to have Cubase 4.5.2 in the system

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2009 @ 03:40 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

After installing this new Yamaha extension software etc. is it still possible to use my Cubase 4.5.2 as well with this new extension software and N12 firmware update? However, I think in future the need will be less and lesser to have Cubase 4.5.2 in the system

Yes, the new Extensions (when they become available) will work on all version of Cubase series 4 and later (Including 4.5.2)....

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2009 @ 10:03 PM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Bad Mister,

It would be nice when they hurry up with this new Yamaha Steinberg extension driver, having Cubase 5 already installed.
It would be nice to to have all the benefits of Cubase 5 now. Ofcourse I still can proceed with my present Cubase 4.5.2.

Still. Maybe Yamaha could put this Yamaha Steinberg driver on yamaha softsynt site. Would be a nice gesture.

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 12:41 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Those crazy Europeans… Cubase 5 is just arriving in the USA… (I’ve yet to see it in a store, that is, as of last Friday) So I guess they couldn’t wait to release it in Europe… I’m sure there are many Cubase users who do not have Motif XS’s and therefore would not miss the Extensions…

Hopefully, they will be posted shortly.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 01:46 AM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Yes, we maybe are crazy and mad, but we europeans love the motifXS, N12 mixer, mLAN and Cubase.

Its not my fault that Steinberg delivered this Cubase 5 that quickly in the Netherlands. Ofcourse I ordered it, but did not expect the package for month’s. Hahahaha.  It would be nice when Yamaha keeps Up with Steinberg and delivers that Steinberg Firewire driver thingy. LOL.

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 04:48 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Can’t really blame them, the stuff that you pay for has priority of the stuff you get free… it’s one of Newtown’s Laws of Physics, isn’t it? LOL

The Yamaha Steinberg Firewire Driver is up and available… it was ready long before Cubase 5… you mean the Yamaha Extensions for Steinberg DAW 1.x.x or whatever it will be (1.5.0 maybe...)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 02, 2009 @ 07:47 PM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Yes, You cannot blame them.

Still your answer that the Yamaha Steinberg Firewire Driver is up and available is confusing me. I thought that fire wire driver was just to accomodate the MR816 series? and only for Cuase AI4? Not for Cubase 5? and the XS + N12.

I do not think that driver solves my problem of recognizing my XS and N12 in Cubase 5 with their names etc. That will be the new Yamaha Extension driver for Steinberg DAW? Right?

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 03, 2009 @ 01:23 PM
BajaCapt
Avatar
Total Posts:  326
Joined  03-25-2008
status: Enthusiast

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

I been reading this thread with interest, and I was wondering Jan where and how you got ahold of your copy of Cubase 5, I am thinking of preordering mine at Zzounds, and they expecting to be shipping it on February 18th. Interesting they ship early in Europe.
What still had me on hold was the upcoming VST editor and the possibilities that it would bring to the freebie AI version, but man, after getting myself educated on the new Cubase 5 version, the new features are just to much for me to pass on, as much of a penny pincher that I am lol!
I got a new Dell XPS 730X Desktop with the following specs:
Vista 64 Bit SP1
Intel Core i7 8MB cache
6 GB Tri Channel DDR3 memory
and all the other amenities, but the above are whats important for my to be DAW rig, with Cubase 5 being fully 64 Bit compatible and with the soon to be released Yamaha 64 Bit firewire driver, this rig should be pretty sweet. I just got around to installing all my applications, drivers etc, to my surprise this Vista 64 is very very stable ( and fast! ) and all my accessories, printers etc are running perfect.
I had considered dual booting XP and Vista 64 just to install Cubase AI in the XS partition, but I think I am just going to wait it out for Cubase 5 and hook up my XS7/Mlan to it with proper 64 Bit driver. For now I got several songs and patterns sequenced in the XS and planning to finish them up in Cubase 5 /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=
I am also considering the N12, so this and other related threads are on my Motifator folder of bookmarks.
On a quick note, I was pleasantly surprised Dell didn’t install any bloatware ( at my request), it was a fairly “barebones” install of the OS and a tiny bit of dell crapware that I quickly uninstalled…

Jose

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 03, 2009 @ 07:53 PM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

BajaCapt.,

I ordered it directly using the promotion email from Steinberg onwhich you could place your pre-order. Ofcourse as a registered user of Cubase 4, I receive this kind of promotion emails automatically.

Maybe you can try via [url=http://www.Steinberg.net]http://www.Steinberg.net [/url]

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 04, 2009 @ 04:06 AM
frankE
Avatar
Total Posts:  5350
Joined  12-23-2002
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

No one need panic. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt= As I mentioned in an earlier post, distribution of new releases of Cubase vary, depending on where you live. Europe and the UK usually get it first then the US, then other countries. Canada usually was about last. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt= I also mentioned a few years ago that it’s nice to see Europeans get a new release of a product first for a change as we folks here in NA are first most of the time with other products. In any case, my advice holds: I would not ‘bet the farm’ on any new major release of Cubase or any other DAW. Make sure you don’t commit any major projects to it for awhile and be patient. I predict there will a 5.01 release or something before several months have passed. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt= ........frank

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 04, 2009 @ 06:57 AM
jan bruijn
Avatar
Total Posts:  4952
Joined  04-30-2005
status: Guru

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

FrankE,

Thats easy to predict. Perfect software does not exist. Afterall making software is done by humans.

Jan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 05, 2009 @ 12:56 AM
BajaCapt
Avatar
Total Posts:  326
Joined  03-25-2008
status: Enthusiast

Re: Cubase 5 and mLAN

Thanks Jan, I do check at Steinberg frequently for news etc, I am also registered for their newsletter… I will wait till word on the firewire 64Bit driver is released and then perhaps after reading about the stability of the whole new software/hardware package works ( or does not ), then I will definitively pull the trigger on my Cubase 5 purchase, I am not gonna bother with upgrading from AI, prolly just get the full 5 version… I am actually excited about 09 and the possibilities, it is a good time to be into music production, what wonderful toys man /forums/images/icons/wink.gif alt=

Jose

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ does the cubase AI 4 support VST instuments?
Next Topic:

    SteinbergUsers ››