mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode"

     
Posted on: January 24, 2009 @ 11:07 AM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

I created a performance with three parts and I want the arpeggio to stay on so I set the hold to on.  It does stay on but only until I hit a key on another one of my parts.  Just as soon as I hit a key on a part that is defined in another part of the keyboard (split function) the arpeggio stops unless of course I am holding a chord down in the arpeggio part of the keyboard.  I have compared my performance to one that came with the board that works ok and they look the same.  Can anyone shed any light on this?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 25, 2009 @ 05:45 AM
nbadesign
Avatar
Total Posts:  994
Joined  08-20-2007
status: Guru

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

I think that I know what’s your problem. I have similar performance, where one organ sound and one guitar are set up to the C2 key. The other guitar and drums (with arpegio set to hold) are from D2 to G8.
Then, when I play this performance in the lower part of keyboard (C2) drums are started and remains on. If I want to play again in lower part of keyboard, I should press two times Arp button. First to turn off arp, then to avoid drum sounds when I’m playing in the lower part of keyboard.
If you don’t completely understand what I’ve done, you should set key range of the sound with arp on/hold to C-2 G8.

Alex

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 25, 2009 @ 02:07 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

I’m not sure I understand what it is you are not understanding… but there are two Note Limit parameters that you are working with when you create a Performance with an arpeggio.

Press [PERFORMANCE]
Press [EDIT]
Press a Track button [1]-[4] to see PART parameters
Press [F1] VOICE
Press [SF3] LIMIT
This Note Limit determines the range of notes that sound for each PART. So if you only want the Bass to sound below Middle “C” and the piano to sound above, you can set that here.

The second Note Limit parameter determines what notes, when pressed, will trigger the arpeggio to start. The difference is subtle but very important (as you see).

While still in Edit mode
Press [COMMON] to view Common Edit parameters
Press [F3] ARP
Press [SF2] LIMIT
Here you can set a Note Limit that will determine where on the keyboard you must touch a note to start the arpeggio.

This Note Limit allows, for example, to play normally above a certain split point and then bring in a drum arpeggio later.

The HOLD parameter can be set to: OFF, ON or SYNC-OFF.
ON should hold the arp so that it plays continuously
SYNC-OFF will allow the arp to stop when you lift your hand but the tempo continues in the background and picks up (in rhythm) when you next touch the keyboard.
OFF - is self-explanatory.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 25, 2009 @ 02:53 PM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

I understand that.  What I am referring to is that just as soon as I touch a key on the right side (piano voice) the arpeggiator which is playing on the left side stops unless I am holding the left keys down.  Some of Yamaha’s pre-built performances continue to play the arpeggiator even when you touch a key and I was wanting to make mine be able to do the same.  I cannot see what they did that I didn’t.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 26, 2009 @ 05:13 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

I cannot see what they did that I didn’t.

Neither can I - can you post what you did.
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 02:59 AM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

I found the issue.  I thought that when you set an upper and lower limit for your parts that it also set the upper and lower limit for the arpeggio.  Not so...you must go into the edit mode and set the arpeggio range.  My performance had the arpeggio set for the full range of the keyboard.  Once I set the range to end at B3, playing the piano above that range had no effect on the arpeggio that was being held.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 03:01 AM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

PS:  I think this is what you were trying to tell me and I was too dumb to figure it out.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 07:09 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

The important thing is you have it now!
/forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=

Tip: With the Note Limit that controls what notes sound, you can customize the different drum arpeggios… Say you have an arp that includes both drums and percussion… artful use of the Note Limit parameter can isolate just the drums or just the percussion as you desire.

You can even set the Note Limit High lower than the Note Limit Low, creating a hole in the middle… this is great when you want to remove a particular note or notes from sounding… these are all possibilities…

Enjoy!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 08:15 AM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

Sounds like you know a ton about the settings.  I am a new user with less than a week of experience.  Where did you find the most help in learning all the tricks?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2009 @ 06:22 AM
nbadesign
Avatar
Total Posts:  994
Joined  08-20-2007
status: Guru

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

Did you read some guides from Behind Manual zone at this site (http://www.motifator.com/motifes/motifes-btm.php or similar)?
Well, Bad_Mister (Phil) wrote most of them and there you could find that he is Senior Product Specialist. This title says everything. He doesn’t need help, he is a help - for all others!

Alex

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2009 @ 01:11 PM
beachguitar
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Arpeggio hold on MO8 in performance mode

Yes I have been going through all that stuff but the keyboard has so many features it is somewhat overwhelming.  I’m sure with time it will get easier.  I learn lots every day.  Thanks to all!

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ chord arp
Next Topic:

    Performances in 3/4 time signature ››