mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Using my MO8 as MIDI device in Ableton Live/Reason"

Posted on: January 20, 2009 @ 06:19 AM
mohopper
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-20-2009

Hi All, I’m completely new to the world of MIDI, etc, but I have Ableton Live and Reason 4, and I’m thinking I should be able to use my MO8 as an input device. Is this possible?

I’ve downloaded the MIDI driver and successfully installed it. I’ve got both USB and MIDI-to-USB connections for my computer, but I can’t get either software program (Live or Reason) to see or recognize the keyboard as an input device.

Thanks for any info/help/insight. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 21, 2009 @ 12:55 AM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002

Re: Using my MO8 as MIDI device in Ableton Live/Reason

Your question is really about how to configure LIVE and Reason… if you have downloaded and installed the correct USB-MIDI Driver for your computer, then you should be able to select the Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver within the software.

You give us no details about your computer or the version USB-MIDI driver you installed - so we cannot get specific.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 21, 2009 @ 01:46 PM
mohopper
Joined  01-20-2009

Oh, wasn’t aware those kinds of specs would be useful. The computer is a Toshiba Intel laptop running XP. I tried to use the driver for windows vista/x64, but my computer didn’t seem to recognize it. So I downloaded the driver for win 2K/xp, and that seemed to work fine, or at least the “Add Hardware” process completed successfully, then said I needed to reboot for the driver to take effect, which I did.