mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Hello… Need help with mLan latency issue.."

Posted on: January 19, 2009 @ 03:17 AM
MrFooBar
Total Posts:  6
Joined  01-14-2009

Hello everyone,

I am new to home recording and this is my first post on this forum. I’ve been chewing on this problem for a few days now, without a lot of progress, so I’m hoping someone here can help.

My Equipment:
-------------
* Casio Privia PX-100 (MIDI Keyboard)
* Yamaha Motif XS Rack (tone generator) w/ mLAN16e2 expansion card (for firewire connectivity to PC)

My Computer:
------------
Dell Studio 1737 Laptop
* Intel Core2 Duo T9400 @ 2.53 Ghz
* 4GB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-6400 / 800MHZ)
* Seagate FreeAgent Xtreme 1TB external HDD (via eSATA)
* Dynex Firewire 800 ExpressCard adapter (using AGERE chipset)

Software:
------------
* Windows Vista Home Premium
(optimized - i.e. all extraneous applications, services, settings and hardware have been disabled)
* Cubase 4 AI

OK, so my problem is that I’m having SEVERE (but sporadic) latency and drop-outs when trying to record or playback both MIDI and AUDIO between my keyboard, laptop and rack unit.

Here is a diagram of my setup:
------------------------------
KEYBOARD --(MIDI)--> RACK UNIT --(FIREWIRE)--> LAPTOP

and

LAPTOP --(FIREWIRE)--> RACK UNIT --> HEADPHONES

The signal goes in two directions: from the keyboard to the computer for recording; and from the computer to the rack for sound playback.

I’m pretty sure the issue is not my CPU or RAM, as I’ve watched the performance window while trying to record / playback, and the CPU / Memory usage are less than 25% each.