mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "The Advantage of Computer Based Recording?"

Posted on: January 08, 2009 @ 09:39 PM
kingbooger
Total Posts:  28
Joined  09-16-2006

Hi, I have a few questions I should have asked BEFORE I bought my laptop. First of all, If you are just going to use a DAW as a sequencer to control your Motif, then why is that better than using the onboard sequencer? I wanted to use VST’s and effects, but I don’t know how much my laptop can handle. I have a 16 track recording studio that I have been using for about 5 years. How would a DAW be an improvement over that? I thought that my laptop would be powerful enough, but now it seems that it is not up to snuff. I feel that I have made a big mistake. Here is a link for my laptop:
[url=http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Sony-VAIO-VGN-NS135E-W-15-4-Widescreen-Laptop-White-VGN-NS135E-W/sem/rpsm/oid/225086/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do]http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Sony-VAIO-VGN-NS135E-W-15-4-Widescreen-Laptop-White-VGN-NS135E-W/sem/rpsm/oid/225086/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do [/url]
Sorry about the old link I fixed it.
/forums/images/icons/blush.gif alt= /forums/images/icons/blush.gif alt=

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 08, 2009 @ 10:33 PM
dorremifasol
Total Posts:  1534
Joined  10-17-2005

Re: The Advantage of Computer Based Recording?

Which one is it? there are a lot of different models in the page you provided.

Not all plugins use the same CPU power. You should use those that your computer can handle, and that can only be learned by testing. Arturia synths for example are very CPU intensive.