mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Seeking assistance Motif ES+MLan+Cubase+Vista 32"

Posted on: January 03, 2009 @ 04:16 PM
Johnny Mac
Total Posts:  9
Joined  01-01-2008

OK, I will try not to be a total newbe

This is a new install issue with CUBASE 4.  I am looking to record and re-mix songs that I have created on the Motif ES to Cubase and then to mix down to an audio CD.  I am pretty frustrated but I will spare you the editorializing,,,

Hardware:

Motif ES 8
MLAN 16E
Gateway P6831SX
Intel Core Duo T5550 CPU i.8 GHZ
3.0 Gig RAM

Software
CUBASE 4.0
MLan Driver Setup 1.4 MLan tools 2.0 vers 1.3.3
Yamaha Studio Manager
ES Multi-part editor
ES Voice Editior
Other editors from PLG boards

I have read the Motif manual, the Getting Started guide from Motifator, and the manuals that came with CUBASE 4. 

I cannot seem to get the CUBASE 4 program to sound back through the motif.  It doesn’t seem to be recording any data, whether audio or midi, but I can see the level indicators respond to inputs from the keyboard with local control on or off.  I have checked the monitor button on the track inspector.

My sequence for start up is as follows:

Connect the firewire cable from MLAn (in the ES) to Computer.

Turn on Motif ES
Turn on computer.
MLAn Driver starts on boot up

Graphic Patchbay has autoconnect.  Have tried with this feature, or, have also deleted the connections (Audio, Midi and Wordclock) and reconnected manually.  But my understanding is that once configured the autoconnect should take care of my connections. 

Yamaha Studio Manager:  Don’t know if I need Studio Manager but I opened it and set up the input and output bus settings.

Open Cubase 4.

Select “new project” / empty.