mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MO6 and Garageband? Logic comparisons?"

Posted on: December 16, 2008 @ 02:33 PM
Total Posts:  71
Joined  08-01-2008
status: Experienced

I just got a Macbook Pro the other day with Garageband ‘08, and I’ve managed to get the MO6 to work with it through my Tascam US-144 audio interface, but I had a few questions.

Can you get Studio Manager to work with Garageband?

Can you use the DAW remote settings with Garageband so you can start and stop recording, etc. with the MO6?

I know GB is a step down in some respects from Cubase LE4 which I use on my PC, but I like some of the features in GB that Cubase doesn’t seem to have, or at least I haven’t found them.... like volume and effects tracks where you can create fades with MIDI tracks, etc.

I’ve found some of the fade settings in Cubase, but they seem very complicated compared to GB, and I do’t understand how they work in Cubase.

I’m thinking I would like to get Logic Pro for the Mac at some point.  How does that compare to Cubase in terms of useability and functionality and features?

Thanks in advance for any input. : )

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 31, 2008 @ 11:14 PM
Total Posts:  0
Joined  06-25-2006
status: Newcomer

Re: MO6 and Garageband? Logic comparisons?

Hi, hope I can answer a couple of your questions.

First, Studio Manager will not integrate with Garage Band or Logic.
It does on it’s own provide a very good patch editor and
librarian for the Mo even without any integration. The
ability to tweak the keyboards sounds on screen in real
time is very cool. Cubase has complete integration because
Yamaha is the parent company of Steinberg, maker
of Cubase.

Both Logic and Cubase are very sophisticated programs and are in
another league when compared to Garage Band. GB attraction is its ease of use. 

The Mo series integrates very will with both Logic and Cubase,
(a bit more so with Cubase).  As I use Logic and not GB I am not so sure
about the integration of the Mo and GB. Which ever way you go it
come down to how you like to work. 

As far as controlling GB with the Mo I would check out the
Mo6 docs, they have a system to do this that might work
using the transport keys on the board.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 09, 2009 @ 12:46 PM
Total Posts:  71
Joined  08-01-2008
status: Experienced

Re: MO6 and Garageband? Logic comparisons?

Hi Phillip, sorry for the delay in responding to your post, for some reason I can’t log into the forum on my Mac, only on my PC. 

Thanks for all the great info, that really helps!  I haven’t played with GB too much yet because any time I come up with something, I go to CuBase to get it down before I forget it, since that’s the program I know better, it’s easier at the moment.

From what little I have played with GB, there are certainly some features it has that I do like, but yes, I agree, Cubase, and I would assume Logic as well are light years ahead in terms of capability.

Thanks again, I’ll check out your suggestions.

  [ Ignore ]  


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Logic Compressor
Next Topic:

    Garageband vs. Motif 6 (newbie question) ››