mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Can MIDI Cakewalk files be transferred to Motif?"

Posted on: December 16, 2008 @ 01:42 PM
LeTutankhamen
Total Posts:  23
Joined  12-16-2008

I am a newbie on Motif and so far I like what I see. I have a lot of songs on Cakewalk for many years now. I was using my M1 Korg as the master. Can these files be transferred to Motif by way of the Media drive?
Been reading this site for a few days now and have gained a lot of insight.
Thanks!  /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif alt=

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2008 @ 08:54 AM
msr
Total Posts:  250
Joined  03-31-2006

Re: Can MIDI Cakewalk files be transferred to Motif?

If you have a Motif Classic, I believe you can read in standard midi files (SMF) from the SM card.  You would need to save the files in Cakewalk as MIDI files first of course (either type 1 or 2 will work).  If you have a Motif ES you can also transfer SMF files by way of the USB port with a USB stick.

msr

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2008 @ 11:43 AM
LeTutankhamen
Joined  12-16-2008

Thanks for the quick response. To be specific, it is a Motif 6 and it does have a printer port to USB connection. I have done some programming and installed the driver in case I need to download files in the future and working on getting a reader to update the OS. This is information that I learnt from reading this site. Can this USB plug be used for the same purpose, can I actually connect a regular DVD writer to the Motif? I am working in the dark here. I don’t have the manual and CD that came with the piano. It was bought used. /forums/images/icons/cool.gif alt=

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2008 @ 12:03 PM
BradWeber
Total Posts:  14986
Joined  07-26-2002