mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "port setup problems with studiomanager/rack editor"

     
Posted on: December 03, 2008 @ 12:22 PM
rs7k
Total Posts:  0
Joined  11-29-2008
status: Newcomer

I can’t get “online” in the XS rack editor. The editor doesn’t see the “device” but the operating system does. This is what I did:

XS Rack - 3ft USB 2.0 cable - Macbook G4 OSX
Yamaha USB-MIDI driver downloaded and installed
Studio Manager 230/XS Rack editor 213 installed
[Utility] - [MIDI] - “MIDI In/Out” = “USB” [store]

Open Motif Rack XS Editor [file] [set up]
[SET UP PAGE]
“!Ports Have not been set properly”
everything is “not assigned” and there are no options.
LAN - off
USB - on
Global - off
Current - on - PC towards Rack
Voice - off
Auto start - on

[OSX AUDIO MIDI SETUP PAGE]
Device: YAMAHA MOTIF-R XS
Options: Port 1, 2, 3 or 4
Connectors YAMAHA MOTIF-R XS: MIDI IN (1) OUT (1)

Anysuggestions?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 03, 2008 @ 12:53 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: port setup problems with studiomanager/rack editor

Studio Manager 230/XS Rack editor 213 installed

??? you may have downloaded the wrong Editor… go to the following link and download the Motif Rack XS Editor version 1.1.0

[url=http://www.yamahasynth.com/download/motif-rack_xs.html]http://www.yamahasynth.com/download/motif-rack_xs.html [/url]

Perhaps you just typed the wrong version in the post… Let us know.

If you do indeed have the right Motif-Rack XS Editor, then next lets find out what Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver you have installed. Go to SYSTEM PREFERENCES and find the purple Yamaha USB-MIDI icon listed under “OTHER”

Double click it and the Control Panel will open. You should see: Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver Ver. 1.1.1
And a flashing “1” in the center panel.
If you have a keyboard plugged into the 5-pin MIDI jack then you will also see a flashing “3” in the center panel.

http://files.keyfax.com/forums/user-files/429822-USB_MIDI.JPG

If you do not have Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver 1.1.1 on the page linked below you want to download and install it…
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2008 @ 06:23 AM
rs7k
Total Posts:  0
Joined  11-29-2008
status: Newcomer

Re: port setup problems with studiomanager/rack ed

I have everything set up as suggested. I’ve got the correct versions and the blinking 1 in the usb-midi page. But the XS rack editor continues to show this error:

“!Ports Have not been set properly”
everything is “not assigned” and there are no options.
LAN - off
USB - on
Global - off
Current - on - PC towards Rack
Voice - off
Auto start - on

thanks,

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2008 @ 10:32 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: port setup problems with studiomanager/rack ed

Please see this post for screen shots of how your STUDIO MANAGER: > MIDI SETUP and your MOTIF-RACK XS EDITOR: FILE> Setup screens should look: Motif Rack XS USB setup

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2008 @ 09:27 AM
rs7k
Total Posts:  0
Joined  11-29-2008
status: Newcomer

Re: port setup problems with studiomanager/rack ed

I can’t get into this set up screen:

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2008 @ 11:34 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: port setup problems with studiomanager/rack ed

Why not...?
Are you running it stand alone or inside of Cubase???
You don’t say.

Launch Studio Manager (SM2)
Go to SM2 on the menu bar and select PREFERENCES
...tell us something about what you are doing.
Are you sure you are running the correct Editor?

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Can I bring sounds from the Rack ES to the Rack XS
Next Topic:

    What’s New! ››