mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!"

   
Page 2 of 2
Posted on: December 31, 2008 @ 04:07 AM
vanillawafer
Avatar
Total Posts:  126
Joined  07-01-2007
status: Pro

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Thanks for your thoughts on this.  Let me ask it this way:

1) Is yamaha currently working on 64 bit drivers?

2) If no, are there plans to support 64 bit?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 01, 2009 @ 03:17 AM
Yamaha_US
Avatar
Total Posts:  2540
Joined  07-19-2002
status: Guru

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Yes, Yamaha and Steinberg are working on 64 bit Firewire drivers and they are not that far off.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 05, 2009 @ 11:51 AM
2Reggie
Total Posts:  0
Joined  07-13-2004
status: Newcomer

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Thank you Yamaha for the soon to be 64 bit support.

Well my take is a little different from some of the above.
I do believe that some dust is still in the air for Vista 64 bit & music applications, but not as much as some people perceives. ( The upcoming windows 7, seems to be the same as Vista)
I believe that Vista 64 bit is going to eventually be the standard, (Some New PC 64 Bit Comes standard)and software company’s including musical software should and would eventually support it or stay in the dark ages where you will not be supported.

Most major software company’s knows far in advance of new software OS releases, sometimes as long as two years before the public even gets any information about it.
(XP 64 was like bata to Vista 64 bit)
Most company’s have lots of time to comply before an official OS like Vista is released, some gets their driver signatures before hand.
32 bit was the standard of PC for how many years now? Front side bus is now moving to 1066 runs 64 bit at 4.00GB min.
We are now using stronger CPU power that’s smaller in size ( better cooling ) and software company’s that wants to stay competitive in this market will comply or fizz out.

Whenever it’s a major transitional change especially in technology happens, people always resist at first ( remember the transition from Windows 98 to Windows XP )
I know some people just starting to get a cell phone....Lol
( like analogue TV conversion to digital TV 480i and some HD 720p 1080i ) 1080p no broadcast for now, the bandwidths is to thick / big, 1080p it’s only for games or Blue ray HD or direct Game Machine transmission.


Vista is stable on most software application, my 64 bit Vista renders video in a third of the time that it takes for my XP 32 bit machine to do the same job....and with no errors.
My Sonar 64 bit also runs flawlessly, I can’t open up some of my third party plugs but I can freeze, open up many plugs and export mixdowns converting MP-3 on one program and send a wave mix to another program simultaneously and flawlessly.

Here are some good links to check out this is a very Interesting thread, Here is some informative in articles from some professionals, one in particular names Angus Baigent from Steinberg, who talked about the advantages of Vista 64 bit for music DAW’s and Plug ins, along with some of the hurdles that needed to be overcome. ( Article from July 2007)

[url=http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul07/articles/pcmusician_0707.htm]http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul07/articles/pcmusician_0707.htm [/url] Sound on Sound...The Musicians Magazine
[url=http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun07/articles/pcmusician_0607.htm]http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun07/articles/pcmusician_0607.htm [/url] Sound On Sound

[url=http://forums.firingsquad.com/firingsquad/board/message?board.id=software&message.id=14033]http://forums.firingsquad.com/firingsquad/board/message?board.id=software&message.id=14033 [/url]

[url=http://createdigitalmusic.com/tag/64-bit/]http://createdigitalmusic.com/tag/64-bit/ [/url]

[url=http://www.rainrecording.co.uk/vista/performance]http://www.rainrecording.co.uk/vista/performance [/url]

[url=http://www.suggestafix.com/index.php?showtopic=26159]http://www.suggestafix.com/index.php?showtopic=26159 [/url]

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 05, 2009 @ 12:47 PM
NorthernElite
Avatar
Total Posts:  54
Joined  05-15-2008
status: Experienced

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Progress is progress - thanks for the update! :-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 07, 2009 @ 09:13 AM
LKay
Total Posts:  2
Joined  01-07-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Hi! I just got a Motif XS8 this week and was surprised to find that there the AI driver does not support Vista 64bit. Now I can’t really interface to Cubase AI through firewire. Ah I wasted money… I might just buy a firewire cable to test that it doesn’t work…

Vista 64bit is great, because it can use 4GB of RAM (or more in the future). 32bit is supposedly limited to something less than 4GB. I wanted to get a computer that could use as much ram as possible because the bottleneck in most programs is reading/writing from/to disk. I talked to someone last night in the #motif chat room and he was loading gigabytes of samples from DVDs! People who use large samples like that would definitely benefit from using 64bit machines…

I’m glad to hear that Yamaha engineers are working on this issue! Please don’t forget about us users and future users who are using 64bit Vista…

- LKay


  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 07, 2009 @ 11:07 AM
boulez
Total Posts:  669
Joined  02-12-2007
status: Guru

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

I’m afraid you will be dissappointed - it will not even allow you to install the driver.

Unlike many 32 bit programmes which can run in compatibility mode under Vista x64, drivers are very platform specific.

We have Cubase 64 running on Vista 64 on one workstation and are not entirely convinced of its memory management. It is probably optimistic in the extreme to imagine all will be fine as and when Yamaha produce an appropriate driver.

Another question which occurs is whether the O/S of the Motif itself would need modification to communicate via a 64 bit pathway. - I have no idea! /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=)

In any case, (IMHO) the best advice (for the time being) is to use the best 32 bit system you can - unless of course you have a lot of 64bit plugins which you know genuinely run better and actually access all the RAM of which you are thinking.

BTW - The Mac Pro we have here has ludicrous amounts of RAM but Logic can only access 2-3 GB even though the sampler plugin can use more.

And now.....back to the music.

B

PS The USB Driver works and you could use the SP/DIF for audio but this of course, would only be a Stereo connection.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 07, 2009 @ 03:06 PM
BajaCapt
Avatar
Total Posts:  326
Joined  03-25-2008
status: Enthusiast

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Athan said,

Yes, Yamaha and Steinberg are working on 64 bit Firewire drivers and they are not that far off.

Thank you for this info Athan, I do a lot of High Definition video editing and this are very large files, so I decided to buy a new PC with Vista 64bit, it has 6GB of RAM and an Intel Core i7-940 processor, this thing is a beast and should shred trough the Hi Def stuff fine, however, imagine my concern after reading this thread… I suppose I should had done my research ahead of time and I did, at least for the video editing aspect of it, but it never occurred to me that my Motif XS7/Cubase would have issues with my new rig. It is good to know that Steinberg and Yamaha are working on the Vista 64Bit Firewire drivers, I will be definitively waiting on this.
For the time being I think I will either dual boot either XP32Bit and Vista 64Bit or XP64Bit and Vista 64Bit, I will decide on this after further research. I wont get my new PC for another 8 days or so, it gives me time to read read read…
Forgot how much fun it is to run a new Microsoft OS lol! never a dull moment man… Then comes Windows 7 soon :P

Jose.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 08, 2009 @ 12:20 AM
boulez
Total Posts:  669
Joined  02-12-2007
status: Guru

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

I wonder whether this means only the ‘Firewire’ driver as in the new ‘Firewire’ driver required for the new Steinberg interfaces MR816 CSX and MR816 X?

Hopefully Athan was being generic and an mLAN (network) and an AI driver are also part of the work-in-progress.

Would you kindly clarify please Athan?

Happy new Year

B

PS - Under no circumstances should you feel it incumbent upon your good self to reply to this before you have managed to cajole your colleagues into uploading the new VSTi Editor /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=)_

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 08, 2009 @ 08:57 AM
BajaCapt
Avatar
Total Posts:  326
Joined  03-25-2008
status: Enthusiast

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

2Reggie

Here are some good links to check out this is a very Interesting thread, Here is some informative in articles from some professionals, one in particular names Angus Baigent from Steinberg, who talked about the advantages of Vista 64 bit for music DAW’s and Plug ins, along with some of the hurdles that needed to be overcome. ( Article from July 2007)

[url=http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul07/articles/pcmusician_0707.htm]http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul07/articles/pcmusician_0707.htm [/url] Sound on Sound...The Musicians Magazine
[url=http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun07/articles/pcmusician_0607.htm]http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun07/articles/pcmusician_0607.htm [/url] Sound On Sound

[url=http://forums.firingsquad.com/firingsquad/board/message?board.id=software&message.id=14033]http://forums.firingsquad.com/firingsquad/board/message?board.id=software&message.id=14033 [/url]

[url=http://createdigitalmusic.com/tag/64-bit/]http://createdigitalmusic.com/tag/64-bit/ [/url]

[url=http://www.rainrecording.co.uk/vista/performance]http://www.rainrecording.co.uk/vista/performance [/url]

[url=http://www.suggestafix.com/index.php?showtopic=26159]http://www.suggestafix.com/index.php?showtopic=26159 [/url]

Edited by 2Reggie (01/05/09 05:03 PM)

Thanks for those links 2Reggie, some very good reading on the subject.
For the time being I will dual boot Vista 64Bit and XP, here is a great tutorial link for the dual boot procedure for this, for those interested, click here

This should hold me up till the Vista 64Bit Mlan drivers are released…

Jose.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 17, 2009 @ 12:51 PM
NorthernElite
Avatar
Total Posts:  54
Joined  05-15-2008
status: Experienced

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

BUMP!

Just keeping this one on the radar…

Must be getting close?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 17, 2009 @ 04:30 PM
BajaCapt
Avatar
Total Posts:  326
Joined  03-25-2008
status: Enthusiast

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Yep, very close, with the release of Cubase 5 (shipping sometime in February) which fully supports Vista 64Bit, I am sure the 64Bit firewire driver wont be far behind…

Jose.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 07:50 AM
NorthernElite
Avatar
Total Posts:  54
Joined  05-15-2008
status: Experienced

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Yawn: a reflex of simultaneous inhalation of air and stretching of the eardrums, followed by exhalation of breath.

Pandiculation: the term for the act of stretching and yawning simultaneously

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 11, 2009 @ 12:19 AM
NorthernElite
Avatar
Total Posts:  54
Joined  05-15-2008
status: Experienced

Re: Vista 64bit AI Driver!!!!

Due to sentimental value and emotional attachment Ill keep bumping this historical artefact.
Obviously just until it’s resolved, of course /forums/images/icons/cool.gif alt=

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 2 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Waveform to User Drums....How??
Next Topic:

    What’s New... ››