mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "I can’t get rid of hissing noise"

Posted on: September 16, 2008 @ 06:53 PM
StreetsOnBeat
Total Posts:  38
Joined  06-16-2008

I’m new to voice recording and until recently have only created instrumentals with motif es6. I’d like to record some vocals but I’m getting a hissing sound when I hook up my mic, which I kind of expected, but I’d like to know what I can do to eliminate it. I’ve tried hooking the mic directly to my motif using sample mode and I’ve also tried hooking mic to the Fasttrack Pro so I can record in Cubase or Adobe Audition. I’d rather use the first approach because most music software just gives me a headache! Hoping it’s an easy solve, but if not, I’m thinking somewhere along the lines of mixers (if needed), or different cables but will use software if results are considerably better (or cheaper). Thanks in advance.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 17, 2008 @ 05:19 AM
Wellie
Total Posts:  6215
Joined  05-09-2003

Re: I can’t get rid of hissing noise

Talk us through the setup you are using - include details of cabling.

It is most likely a combination of low quality cables with not so good mic pre-amps.

Of course, it may also be something to do with your Mic - which one are you using??

Cheers

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 17, 2008 @ 11:28 AM
StreetsOnBeat
Joined  06-16-2008