mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Mixing"

Posted on: September 02, 2008 @ 06:56 AM
dafingaz
Total Posts:  3350
Joined  07-13-2004

Hello Mo Folkers (LOL),

I am posting some techniques I use while mixing. This was in reponse to an e-mail I received from a Mo person. I am not an expert mix engineer, but below are just some methods I use:

I don’t mind giving you tips. LOL. Thanks for the message.

When I mix, I like to just start with everything up the middle. Sometimes, I do the initial mix in mono just to see if anything will clash as far as frequencies or rhythmic concerns. After the initial mix, I might then go back and do a mix in stereo. At that point, I might do some panning. After that, I could go into some plug-ins and adjust EQs on some things, or try out other elements (i.e. phaser on a string line at the end of the chorus, etc.). Finally, I automate changes (either record or written automation) and bounce to a track and burn that to CD.

I do my mixing in ProTools, so everything is visual and pretty much laid out how I like it. I often do parallel compression on a drum submix where I route all the drums to 2 aux tracks and one track I leave as a drum submix and the other track I would put in a compressor and blend that in with the original drum submix.

If vocals are involved, you should try to give the artist as many options as possible. For example, if the song is 5 minutes long, try to give them a 3 minute edited version for radio. Maybe mix an instrumental for them. Also give them a version with the vocals up a bout 3 dB just to have that option as well.