mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif ES?"

     
Posted on: December 04, 2007 @ 05:42 PM
bdunard
Total Posts:  2
Joined  12-04-2007
status: Newcomer

My keyboard player is moving back home and I have hired another keyboard player.  The old keyboard player suggested that the new keyboard player just buy a Motif and he could load all the programs.  Well that is what we did but he bought a Motif ES.  So my question is two part:

1.  Can I dump programs from Motif to Motif ES?  I realize that I will lose some things but in general will it work.

2.  If possible, What is the best way to dump the Motif to the Motif ES?  I was thinking USB.

Thanks for all your help!

Brian DuNard

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2007 @ 07:40 PM
BradWeber
Avatar
Total Posts:  14986
Joined  07-26-2002
status: Legend

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

The Motif ES can load and map Motif and/or Motif Rack voices to their closest equivalent waveforms and effects. Therefore the easiest way to transfer Motif Rack voices to a Motif ES would be to:[list][*]Connect your Motif Rack to a computer (via MIDI or USB);
[*]Bulk dump the desired voices to the Motif Rack Voice Editor running on that computer;
[*]Save these voices to a Motif Rack Voice Editor Library file (*.w6e);
[*]Connect your computer to the Motif ES (via USB or MIDI); and
[*]Use the Motif ES Voice Editor to load that library file and bulk dump the desired voices to the Motif ES.[/list:u]In order to load the voices from the Motif Rack Voice Editor file into the Motif ES Voice Editor, you will need to select “MOTIF-RACK Voice Editor Files (*.w6e)” in the “files of type” drop down list of the File-->Open Library dialog (as shown in the screen shot below).

http://files.keyfax.com/forums/user-files/376843-Image2.jpg

Regards,

Brad Weber

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2007 @ 10:02 PM
bdunard
Total Posts:  2
Joined  12-04-2007
status: Newcomer

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

Thanks Brad.

Can I just dump all of the programs over to the Motif ES?  That way I am sure that I got all of them.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 19, 2009 @ 11:42 AM
spydah
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-06-2008
status: Regular

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

sorry if im a little slow but after i voicedump the presets i want from the motifrack to the voiceeditor.. where do they go and how do i save them? i tried to save the presets from the normal user tab but the file i saved the harp preset was only like 500kb.. cant be right?



and also after i get the save done correctly, how do i import the voice to the es, where should i put it in the voice editor? i really dont get it :/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 20, 2009 @ 06:10 AM
spydah
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-06-2008
status: Regular

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

braad help me im goin insane!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 24, 2009 @ 08:46 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

Let’s get some terminology straight so that you know what to do. Any Voice Editor file you make with the Motif-Rack Editor (.w6e) can be opened by the Motif ES Editor (as Brad points out).

When the term bulk dump is used, in this case we have to be specific. When you open the Motif-Rack Voice Editor, there is an option to “Receive Voice Bulk” (not to be confused with the UTILITY function “Bulk Dump” found in the Motif-Rack itself).

The Motif Rack Voice Editor can RECEIVE Voices from the Motif Rack - when you click on the “Receive Voice Bulk’ icon you can select what Voices to capture Normal User 1, Normal User 2, and Drum User. If you have PLG150 boards with User Voice you can additionally receive Plug-in User 1 and Plug-in User 2.

If it is Preset Voices you wish to transfer, you can use the Motif Rack Voice Editor to copy the PRESET bank to a USER bank.

Select PRESET 1, for example, highlight the first Voice.
On your computer keyboard [CTRL] + [A] will select ALL
[CTRL] + [C] will Copy ALL
Select USER 1 Voice location 001
[CTRL] + V will Paste ALL

In this fashion you can Copy the Preset banks to User banks, (you have 5 Preset banks and only 2 User so you will need to make multiple Voice files… then use the Voice Editor to save a .w6e file.

The .w6e file can be opened by the Motif ES Editor and then you can “Transmit Voice Bulk” to the Motif ES>

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2009 @ 05:07 AM
spydah
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-06-2008
status: Regular

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

when i have copys of the 5 presets i want from the rack in the normal user list and press recieve voice bulk from normal user 1 the list is filled with all the user presets from the motif and the 5 presets i want to transfer are gone.

how do i recieve bulk for just the presets i want and save them?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2009 @ 01:07 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Legend

Re: Can I dump what is on a Motif Rack to a Motif

It is not clear what you are not understanding. You do not “receive” the presets. I gave you instructions on how to COPY the Presets in the Motif Rack Editor to the USER locations in the Motif Rack Editor. You can then Save a Motif Rack Voice Editor file (.w6e).

That file can be opened by the Motif ES Editor and you can then send (Transmit) those USER programs to the ES from the Motif ES Editor.

  [ Ignore ]