mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase"

     
Posted on: October 30, 2007 @ 06:50 AM
travesty31
Total Posts:  0
Joined  11-04-2005
status: Newcomer

Hi all.

I have a question, I know I talked about it with Bad Mister at the Remix Hotel in Atlanta, but I just wanted a step by step walk through on how to get it done.  I want to be able to permanently set up my ES 8 and my i88X to run at the same time in Cubase.  What I mean by this, is I can record my music from my ES 8 into Cubase 4, and once I finish, be able to record the vocals from the mic preamps in the i88X (channels one and two respectively).  I know that I will have to somehow connect them through the graphic patchbay, but need some assitance in doing so.  Right now, I would have to auto connect the ES8, open Cubase, set that up, record and once I finish that.  I would have to close the project, auto connect the i88x, reopen the project, and set up the channels, and record the vocals.  I know that there is a way to avoid all of this, by simply having both connected via mLan simultaneously, and setting up Cubase to accept the signals from both.  I just need some help. 
I tried to ticker around with it, but I connected them in a way that made since to me in the Graphic Patchbay, but it gave me an error message concerning Wordclock.  Could someone shed some light on this as well.
To also put my question another way, I want to utilize all 14 channels of output from my Motif ES via mLan, and also utilize the first four channels of output from the i88X and dump all the audio signals into Cubase (not at the same time of course, but I just want to have it set up that way.  I will record using the however of the many of the Motif’s channels I use first, then just open up another channel in Cubase, and that channel will have the input coming from the I88x to record the vocals.).  I hope that is less confusing /forums/images/icons/smile.gif alt=.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 30, 2007 @ 09:35 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

You can create a Graphic Patchbay setup that will accommodate all 16 audio outputs of the Motif ES and 4 outputs from the i88X and accomplish simultaneous recording.

I would imagine you are using the Motif ES as your soundcard (by this I mean: your monitor speakers are connected to the L&R Outputs of the ES). Setting up the Graphic Patchbay should precede you opening Cubase.

The Audio, MIDI routing is shown in screen shots below.
Please realize there is no one way to setup - I created this setup based on what you say you want to accomplish and I am recording individual outputs (from the Motif ES) and vocals (via the i88X) simultaneously to Cubase 4 with this configuration. Monitoring it all through headphones connected to the Motif ES.

In the Audio patch:
You can see the computer on the left, the Motif ES (mLAN16E) at the bottom and the i88X on the right.
I have all 16 audio outputs of the ES going to the first 16 inputs on the computer.
The 4 outputs you mentioned from the i88X occupy inputs 17-20 on the computer.

I have a stereo output returning from the computer to the Motif ES (this is your main monitor output that will feed the monitor speakers connected to the Motif ES’s L&R back panel Output jacks.

http://files.keyfax.com/forums/user-files/370669-Audio.JPG

The OUTPUT connector is always the same color as the source - making it easier to follow routing.

As far as the MIDI Patch:
There are four MIDI ports from the mLAN16E (Motif ES) to the computer and four ports returning.

http://files.keyfax.com/forums/user-files/370670-MIDI.JPG

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 30, 2007 @ 09:37 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

Graphic

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 30, 2007 @ 12:01 PM
travesty31
Total Posts:  0
Joined  11-04-2005
status: Newcomer

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

Dear Bad Mister,


THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOO MUCH DUDE!  I just did the configurations on everything and I really appreciate you prompt response.  I set the Motif ES to “Master” because the computer was the “Master before.” From hear I connected all the nodes, checked the wordclock, the midi connections and everything was set the way you stipulated.  I saved the configuration, just in case, and I tested in in Cubase.....and it worked like a charm.  I even set up a template on Cubase to remember my channel assignments so that when I start recording the tracks and vocals, everything will be set up the way it is supposed to.  I tested it out, and everything works fine!  Thank you SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much again!  God bless you man!  I can’t wait to see you again at the Remix Hotel next year, and prayerfully before then if you and the guys ever swing by Atlanta.  If I don’t see or talk to you again, have a Happy Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years!

Travis

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 05, 2009 @ 02:14 AM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

Hi!

I’ve just linked my i88x to my mLANsystem. (i88x to 01x to xs8 to computer).
The auto connector finds and connect the i88x, but the studio manager can’t.  In the Re.map MIDI Ports I’ve linked mLAN MIDI OUT(6) to the only one midi inn on the i88x.  The only free midiport left on the computer, is port 17, and that port is only for s200-system.  So I can’t connect out from i88x to inn on the computer.  01x has taken 5 midiports, and xs8 3.  Midi 6-8 are closed(green).  I only want my studio manager and cubase to find i88x so I can use it.  Can someone help?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 05, 2009 @ 02:17 AM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

MIDI Patch

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 05, 2009 @ 11:05 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

I’ve just linked my i88x to my mLANsystem. (i88x to 01x to xs8 to computer).
The auto connector finds and connect the i88x, but the studio manager can’t. In the Re.map MIDI Ports I’ve linked mLAN MIDI OUT(6) to the only one midi inn on the i88x. The only free midiport left on the computer, is port 17, and that port is only for s200-system. So I can’t connect out from i88x to inn on the computer. 01x has taken 5 midiports, and xs8 3. Midi 6-8 are closed(green). I only want my studio manager and cubase to find i88x so I can use it. Can someone help?

Okay a couple of things to get clear.

you can retire the Auto Connector… it is principally for folks that have just one device to connect to the computer… You clearly have more than one. So Graphic Patchbay is what you want to use.

Next, Studio Manager has nothing what ever to do with the i88X. Studio Manager is a host application for launching the various Editors. The 01X has an Editor, the Motif ES has two Editors (MULTI and VOICE)… the i88X is a passive device and does not have or require an editor.

It is not clear why you want or feel you need to connect the MIDI port of the i88X. Let’s explain what that is for. It does not address or speak to the i88X itself… it is stictly when you are connecting an external device to your network… the i88X can be a MIDI interface for one external device connected to its 5-pin Jacks.

Currently in your system you have an 01X which has five MIDI ports
Port 1 for 01X Remote Control over your DAW software
Port 2 is a pair of 5-pin jacks on the back panel MIDI “A” to which you can connect any MIDI device to and from your network
Port 3 is a pair of 5-pin jacks on the back panel MIDI “B” to which you can connect any MIDI device to and from your network.
Port 4 is dedicated for the 01X Studio Manager Editor
Port 5 is for general Remote Control… for example, you can use Port 5 to select sounds on the Motif ES8

The thing to understand is that any mLAN device in your setup can act as a MIDI interface for an external device connected to its MIDI ports. So if you connected a synth module to the first set of IN and OUTs on the back of the 01X - your DAW would see them as mLAN MIDI IN (2) and mLAN MIDI OUT (2). If you connected another MIDI module to the MIDI “B” jacks it would be seen in your DAW as mLAN MIDI IN (3) and mLAN MIDI OUT (3).

The next three Ports are unavailable...on a PC (each node reserves 8 port whether it uses them all or not)

The Motif ES uses four Ports 9, 10, 11, and 12
Its first port is for normal music performance and timing
Its second, third and fourth ports can be used for PLG boards, or you can select to REMOTE control your DAW or you can select a port to act as a MIDI Interface for 1 external device (that is what the “THRU PORT” parameter addresses on the UTILITY > [F5] MIDI > [SF4] OTHER screen.

The next four ports are not used (they are greyed out).

Port 17 is available if you additionally want to use the MIDI jacks on the i88X as a MIDI Interface. As I see your system you would only need that if you have a fourth MIDI keyboard or module you want to bring into the network.

You can connect 2 modules/keyboards to the 01X MIDI jacks and a third to the MIDI ports on the ES. You only need to use the i88X MIDI jacks if you have a 4th device you want to communicate with.

Hope that helps.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 07, 2009 @ 11:31 PM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

Thanks again for your well done explanation!

My next question is how to set up a phone-line using mLAN, graphic patchbay and cubase4 together with 01x, i88x and xs8.

My studio is one room only.  So when I want to record from a microphone, the monitor must be closed down(volume down) and still have a line to phones.

What may I do in control Room mixer (routing) and with the other equipment to make this happen?

sincerely

Jøran Ingvaldsen

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 08, 2009 @ 12:17 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

How many headphones do you need to feed?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2009 @ 10:35 PM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

I need two, one for the engineer, and one for the artist.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 13, 2009 @ 01:31 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

You can split the audio output from the computer to both the 01X and to the Motif ES. Plug one set of headphones to the 01X and the other to the Motif ES.

On the AUDIO window of the Graphic Patchbay… you probably have a stereo out going from the Computer Node to the 01X Node. Connect that same Computer output pair to the first two inputs on the mLAN16E (Motif ES) Node.

This will deliver the mix to both headphone jacks.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 15, 2009 @ 06:26 AM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

The phones out from XS8 is ok, thanks!  But if I have a set of phones out from the 01x, I can have sound as long as I doesn’t turn the level for the monitor/phones down which I wish when recording vocal.  How do I do it if it is still possible to use phones from the 01x, and turn the monitor down?

If I patch mLAN 17/18 into i88x from the computer, I can hear all audio from the computer, but not the XS8.  Can the xs8 also be mixed with PC through the i88x?  I tried to set mLAN monitor on the MOTIF XS Editor to “with PC” and on “REC on PC for the midiflow.  In the manual it stands: “ Only Parts which are set to “L&R” as the Output Select parameter will be output to the DAW software on a computer via an IEEE1394 cable, merged and
mixed with the DAW sound, “ The output are set to L/R. I still can’t hear the XS through the i88x..  Ideas?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 16, 2009 @ 02:41 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Jedi Knight

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

You can defeat your monitors either by turning them off or turning down their volume - assuming you have powered monitors.

The Motif ES audio signal can be made audible by routing it through the DAW (Cubase)… I can post a Graphic Patch for you but you’ll have to wait until I’m back in my studio… next week.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 07:42 PM
ingvaldsen66
Total Posts:  32
Joined  01-16-2008
status: Regular

Re: Connecting Motif ES 8 and I88x to run in Cubase

Just a reminder if you have something ready for me…

Jøran

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Yamaha DM2000
Next Topic:

    SteinbergUsers ››