mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "how to get yamaha motif rack to work in pro tools"

Posted on: June 01, 2007 @ 07:45 AM
Phusion
Total Posts:  0
Joined  06-01-2007

hello everybody. this is my first post here on this forum because i’m new to this wonderful community. i’m not really new to the recording industry but there are things that i still need to know and to learn. i found that this is just the perfect place for me and everybody else in the music industry to hang out and learn from each other.

ok. to the topic.

i’ve been stuck in this situation for 4 years now since i bought my yamaha motif rack, and i’m still looking for ways to solve it. i’m a pro tools user on a pc and with the yamaha motif rack (the classic model), i wanted to record midi into pro tools. so, i hooked everything up they way it should be hooked. but, when i record midi, it records all the midi notes that i played. the problem is that when i play it back, i don’t hear anything. is there any special configuration that i need to setup in the motif rack or pro tools? how do you turn local off in the motif rack?

here’s how i set it up: using two midi cables, i plug the first midi cable from the input of the motif rack to the output of my xp-80 keyboard controller. and with the second midi cable, i plug one end into the thruput of the motif to the input of the digi 002R. also, with two mono intrument cables, i plug it into the main output of the motif rack into inputs L and R on the digi 002R. i did turn local switch off on the keyboard.